Deck The Halls

Deck The HallsInspiration for this card took a little while to arrive, but once it did it all ended up happening quite quickly! I do enjoy making CAS cards with cute characters on them, and this Christmas card is no exception to that.

I started by cutting down my white panel. I had a panel the same width as the card front, then cut it off at an angle with my paper-cutter at the height I wanted. I then ran the resulting panel through my Big Shot with a woodgrain embossing folder, and set it to one side.

Next I found a piece of soft blue paper to use as the background colour on the card. I cut it down to size, then started to work on stamping it. The stamps for the string and lights are all from the retired Joyful Tidings set by Pink and Main. I first stamped the string in MFT Black Licorice Hybrid Ink, then added the metal ends of the lights (I swear there’s a word for them, but I cannot think of it at the moment!) and heat embossed them in gold. Then I stamped the lights themselves, alternating between blue, green and purple.

I then started working on my cat. I took a snippet of white card, worked out the positionings, stamped on the hat from Paper Smooches’ Chubby Chums Pals, masked it off, and then stamped the cat from Chubby Chums. I used pencils to colour in the cat, andΒ fussy cut her out.

With my elements ready I started adhering everything together. I used double-sided tape (need to get refills for my tape runner!) to adhere the blue panel into place. I then positioned the white panel and cat where I wanted them to act as a guide so that I knew where to add my sentiment. The sentiment is from the same Joyful Tidings set and I stamped it in the Black Licorice Hybrid Ink.

Using my craft knife I cut around the cat’s paws so that I could slip her over the embossed panel as if she is holding on to it. I then applied foam tape to the back of both the white panel and the cat, and adhered them to the card base.

I used my white gel pen to add a highlight to each of the lights, and as a final touch added a layer of glossy accents to give them some shine.

Deck The Halls 2I’m very pleased with this card. I think it came together really well, and is definitely very sweet! I did mis-stamp one of the lights, so it looks like it is falling off of the string, but never mind. Overall I think it is a success!

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Addicted to Stamps and More – Anything Goes

Crafyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge – Anything Christmas

Crafyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge Extra – Anything Christmas

Muse: ChristmasVisions – Inspiration Card (I picked up on a number of elements – the peeking cat with a Christmas hat, the white embossed panel, soft blue, string of lights, and simple, black sentiment.)

Cornelia Wenokor's Muse Card

Cornelia Wenokor’s Muse Card

Paper Smooches – Green (some of my lights are green)

Sweet Stampin’ – No Designer Paper

Watercooler Wednesday – Sketch/Layout (I did change it up a little, but I think it’s still easy to see the original layout in my card)

Work It Wednesday – Green (I used green for some of my lights)

 

37 thoughts on “Deck The Halls

  1. Terrific take on our WWC108 Watercooler Wednesday sketch. I love how you flipped it and used it to your advantage for this card. That kitten is so much fun peeking over the fence. Great card and so happy you joined us at the Watercooler this week.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Super duper cute! Love the embossing. Fab take on our ‘No Designer Paper’ challenge this week. Thanks so much for sharing your gorgeous creation with us, it’s utterly perfect for this challenge. See you again soon I hope. Hugs, Wends xoxo Sweet Stampin’ DT

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is just so adorable! Love this fat Paper Smooches cat – the facial expression is just priceless! Wonderful take on the inspiration card – so happy to have you playing along at MCV! Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh, I love the way you combined this challenges, love the look on this kitty’s face, so adorable.
    The string of lights is just the perfect finishing touch, I love how they look like they are made of glass with the addition of the Glossy Accents.
    Fabulous card.
    Hugs,
    Maria Rodriguez.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. What a super cute card— that kittle makes me smile;) THANKS for joining in the fun for the March challenge! Hope you join in our April SHOWERS challenge ❀

    ps… sorry I’m late in leaving comments- I didn’t realize I was on vacation for the first week of April! LOL!

    Like

  6. Not sure what happened to my first comment- sorry if this is a repeat!

    What a fun little card— love that kitty! He makes me smile! THANKS for joining in the fun for the March challenge! Hope you join in our April SHOWERS challenge ❀

    ps… sorry I’m late in leaving comments- I didn’t realize I was on vacation for the first week of April! LOL!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

