Butterfly Love

I had another go at smooshing today, and it was a lot more fun this time as I wasn’t trying to control it at all. I just let it do its thing! I used the resulting paper in two different ways – as a simple as-is panel, and to make some pretty butterflies.

I started by creating my smooshed paper. I used a piece of watercolour paper, and various inks in shades of blue as well as one purple. I kept layering the colour until I was happy with it. I was going for a slate blue look.

Once I was happy with the paper I cut out a strip to be the panel on my card. I then used some Sizzix butterfly dies to create butterflies from the same paper. I coated each butterfly with glossy accents and left them to dry.

Whilst they were drying I cut a frame from some blue mirrored card. I don’t yet own any frame dies so I just used my paper trimmer for this.

At this point I began assembly. I used double-sided tape to attach the smooshed panel to a white, side-fold card base. I then applied foam tape to the back of my frame and stuck that in place (slightly wonky… oops.) I put glossy accents on the back of the butterflies’ bodies and pressed them into position.

I wanted to add a sentiment on a banner but wasn’t sure what colour paper to use. In the end I decided to use vellum. I heat embossed a sentiment from CAS-ual Friday’s Calm and Loving stamp set. I used the midtone blue ink that I had used for the smooshing, and added a touch of the purple ink along the top of the lettering, then embossed it with clear embossing powder, then attached the banner across the front of the card.

I really like the softness and looseness of this card. I like the way the butterflies are almost escaping from within the frame. And as I said I’m really pleased with how the smooshing turned out this time. The technique was certainly a lot more fun when doing it as intended!

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Addicted to Stamps and More – Anything Goes

Butterfly Challenge – Butterflies, Glossy Accents, and Slate Blue

CAS Mix Up – Stamping, Smooshing and Your Choice (My choice is die cutting – the butterflies)

MFT Sketch Challenge – Sketch/Layout

Sweet Stampin’ – No Designer Paper

17 thoughts on “Butterfly Love

  1. That’s a beautiful high gloss you have achieved on your butterflies. I love your smooshed paper effect. Thsakyou for fluttering by my butterfly garden. hugs Mrs A.

    Like

  2. Great job with your smooshing, Charlotte!! Love that you’ve used it for both a panel and the butterflies. Great design with shiny blue frame. Thanks for sharing with us at CAS Mix Up!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I see your shiny butterfly woooww
    really Lovely added …I used my versamark and clear embossing powder 3 times to make my sentiment shiny sometimes but using Glossy Accent could be another idea
    thanks for sharing on your description
    sweet sketch and lovely Card with soft color..
    Many thanks to joining with us at ATSM this week
    hugs
    Monika (ATSM DT)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. Yes clear embossing powder would be a good way to do it too. Probably quicker, and would certainly dry quicker 🙂 But I wanted to use Glossy Accents on this occasion! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

