Easter Bunny Train Slider – SSS Hopping Along Card Kit

I was very excited this week to receive my first ever card kit! I’d ordered the limited edition Simon Says Stamp ‘Hopping Along’ card kit, and had been impatiently waiting its arrival. Of course I had to make something with it as soon as possible. I’ve never made a slider before, and with the included railway slider die and train sticker, I figured I’d have a go at one.

I started by creating a card base from the Sea Glass card stock that came in the kit. I wanted it to be landscape with a side rather than top fold. I then chose one of the patterned papers from the Doodlebug Easter Express Β papers and cut it down to size for my panel, rounding the corners with my We R Memory Keepers Crop-A-Dile Corner Chomper. I also rounded the corners on the card base itself.Β I used double-sided tape to adhere my patterned paper panel to the card base.

Next I created the banner part of the design which would house the slider element. I used a piece of blue card stock from my stash, along with a piece of green to give the impression of sky and grass. I used the SSS Railroad Slider Wafer Die to cut the slider element from both layers, then lined them up and adhered them together before cutting the ‘tail’ from the panel.

The slider element for my card is the Doodlebug Doodle Pops Easter Express 3D sticker. I actually took apart the stick and just used the top couple of layers, so I’ll be able to use the rest of the sticker on another card. I used two foam dots side by side on a penny, placed them behind the track, then pressed the bunny and train element on top of it. The reason I used two dots instead of one was because I didn’t want the train to spin instead of sliding.

Turning the banner over I applied a double layer of foam tape to the back, making sure the slider mechanism still had space to work. I worked out where I wanted to position the banner, then adhered a grey paper from my stash to cover the area that would show behind the opening of the slider. I could have used the same green as my grass, but I thought the grey gave more of an impression of a railway.

After removing all the backing paper from my banner I adhered it into place on the card base. I decided it still needed a little something extra, so I added one of the sentiments from the SSS Easter Greetings stamp set. It would have been better to stamp before adding the foam tape, but using my MISTI allowed me to get a good impression despite this.

I’m pretty happy with this card. It’s fairly simplistic, but given that it’s my first attempt at a slider I was mostly aiming at getting the mechanism done properly. It works well enough, though it stick a little bit in the middle. It’s a sweet card, and was fun to make. I will definitely try to make more slider cards in future. Perhaps I should invest in a train stamp and die set to go with the railway!

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Craftyhazelnut’s Patterned Paper Challenge – Patterned Paper

MFT Sketch Challenge – Sketch/Layout

Sweet Stampin’ – Anything But A Birthday

Simon Says Stamp Work It Wednesday – Green

 

12 thoughts on “Easter Bunny Train Slider – SSS Hopping Along Card Kit

Leave a Reply

