Mother’s Day Flowers

Mother’s Day in the UK is quickly approaching. As I am from England, and my mum of course still lives there, I try to send her a card each year for their mother’s day, rather than doing it on the day that mother’s day is celebrated here in Finland. If that made sense… Anyway, I didn’t have a card in my stash that seemed suitable, so I figured I’d try and make something new for the purpose.

I started by cutting a piece of dark mint card to the same width as my card base. I then used one of the stitched edge dies from Pink and Main’s Scallop Waves Dies set to cut the panel down.

Using the mint panel as a guide, I stamped my flowers directly onto the white card base, masking as necessary. The flowers and butterfly are from Altenew’s Wild Hibiscus stamp set. I then coloured the images in with colouring pencils. I decided to use bold, warm colours for the flowers as a counterpoint to the cool mint panel. I stuck with a cool blue for the butterfly though, to help it stand out against the flowers.

For the sentiment I used Lawn Fawn’s Claire’s ABCs and shaped them (as best I could) to match the curve of the mint panel. I then stamped them with the same black ink as I had used for the rest of the stamping.

Finally I adhered the mint panel to the card base with foam tape.

I got a bit frustrated with the colouring of this image. I seem to be able to manage one of the flowers (the right most) well enough, but I can never get any of the other flowers in the set to look how I want them… I guess I just need to keep practicing. Overall though I am happy with the end result of this card.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Addicted to Stamps and More – Make Your Mark

Butterfly Challenge – Butterflies, Edges, and Mint

CAS(E) This Sketch – Sketch/Layout

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday – For a Special Lady/Girl

The Sisterhood of Crafters – Celebrating Women

15 thoughts on “Mother’s Day Flowers

  1. Beautiful card, the wavy stitched panel makes a lovely feature. I love how you’ve curved the sentiment to match the stitched edge. Thank you for joining in Butterfly Challenge #74 – Good Luck!
    Liz – Guest Designer xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

