Subtle Leaves

This is one of those cards that I got the idea for and then spent a while mulling over until I had the opportunity to work on it. I quite like when the creation process goes like that, especially when it works out how I’d intended, which this one more or less did. There was a little struggle in the early stages as I tried to ascertain the best way to translate the idea into reality. But in the end it came together pretty nicely!

First I used the Spring Greenery Sizzlet Decorative StripΒ to cut some masks. I just used scrap paper which I then coated with Tombow Multi Mono Liquid glue and left to dry so that it would become a removable adhesive. I then played around with the resulting masks to work out how I wanted the card to look.

Once I was happy with the layout I sponged green pigment ink over the masks, keeping the colour darkest at the corners and fading it out towards the centre.

After removing the masks I put the card into my MISTI and positioned one of the stamps from Altenew’s Super Script. I then stamped it with the same green pigment ink that I had used for my ink blending.

As a final touch I took some sequins from the Simon Says Stamp Sunshine Mix and adhered them to my card with a touch of Glossy Accents.

I like this card, but I could be happier with it. I think the leaf pattern is perhaps a bit too subtle, and I should have either used a darker ink or else blended over it for longer to help the leaves stand out better. I also feel like I didn’t do the best job of lining up the sentiment, though I admit I had some difficulty with it. I’m not sure about the sequins either – I don’t use sequins on my cards very often and I’m not convinced that I positioned them as well as I could have.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

CASology – Foliage

Less Is More – One Layer and Leaves

The Paper Players – Green and White

 

25 thoughts on “Subtle Leaves

  1. This is so beautiful. Gorgeous delicate BG stamping of your leaves with the bold sentiment in the foreground is a brilliant CAS design and a perfect one layer card. Thanks so much for playing along with us at Less is More this week. x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is such a pretty spring card….I love the bold hello sentiment combined with the dappled leaves that you have blended in so perfectly! Thank you so much for playing along with us at Less is More this week πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

