Framed Father Christmas

Today I made a Christmas card. It’s not the card that’s been prodding my mind waiting to be made, but that one can wait. I do like this Father Christmas stamp – it’s actually the only stamp I have (that I can think of) of a person, and I did have fun colouring it!

I started by stamping the Father Christmas from Art Impressions’ Merriest Christmas stamp set onto a snippet of watercolour paper. I used MFT Black Licorice Hybrid Ink as it is waterproof. I then coloured the image with my watercolour pencils, using my clear Wink of Stella pen to blend the colour out whilst adding some subtle shimmer. I also added some black and grey as a shadow beneath the Father Christmas to help ground him.

I then took a snippet of gold mirror card and cut it to be slightly bigger than the watercolour panel. I misjudged my measurements slightly though, and had to trim my watercolour panel down. Then of course the paper snagged and tore (probably because my paper-cutter needs a new blade), and I had to trim it down more to account for that. And then I realised that one side was wonky, and I had to do some more trimming to straighten everything up. At which point it snagged again(!) and I was out of trimming space. Thankfully this snag was right at one of the corners, and after husband suggested just trimming off the corners I realised I could use my We R Memory Keepers corner chomper to round off the corners, which fixed it.

I also gutted the gold mirror card, cutting out the centre of the panel so that I would be able to use that bit in future. It’s not possible to tell by looking at the card that the panel has been gutted. I like to do this as it allows me to get more use out of my papers than I would do otherwise, which also helps to save money! I don’t always gut the panels, but I’m most likely to do it when using a ‘special’ card or paper.

After lining up the mounted image panel on my red card base (which I had also rounded the corners on) I took a large snowflake stamp, and heat embossed it in white directly onto the card base so that it would appear to be peeking out from behind the image panel. All that was left to do then was to adhere the mounted image panel into place, for which I used my Tombow Multi Mono Liquid Glue.

I do like this card and I’m fairly happy with the colouring on the image. There is a part of me, however, that wishes I was brave enough to try to create my own background for him. Perhaps a fireplace and the edge of a Christmas tree with presents underneath… That does sound a bit complicated though – certainly not something I would have had time for this evening. But maybe I should give it a try sometime.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Addicted to Stamps and More – Holiday

Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge – Anything Christmas and Optional: Father Christmas

Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge Extra – Anything Christmas

Pixie’s Snippets Playground – Snippets

Sweet Stampin’ – Anything But Birthday

Sweet Stampin’ Christmas – Anything Christmas

TGIF Challenges – Sketch/Layout

 

20 thoughts on “Framed Father Christmas

  1. Hi there Charlotte! What a fun card – super image as well. A perfect Christmas card.

    Oh I am so with you on the ‘gutting special paper/card business’. Sometimes I ‘gut’ favourite/expensive card using a close enough smaller sized die and then fill in the centre ‘hole’ using a scrap of die cut card (using the same die) from the million and one white snippets here, especially if I feel it needs levelling (ie if the top layer is a bit less supportive. My view is that if the recipient pulls the card apart enough to see my secrets …….. then they should learn something πŸ™‚

    Hugs

    Di xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a perfect take on the sketch, Charlotte, and a wonderful use of snippets! Your coloring is really superb! Sometimes when I cock my head and do that “I wonder …” thinking, I get up and take a picture of my card as is and THEN I dive in with the risky bit, so no harm no foul! I’ll bet once you relaxed, you’d draw an awesome background!! Hugs, Darnell

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I actually made a Christmas card this week too – maybe it was the fresh snowfall that made me think of it! You card is a great creation and your coloring is perfect! Lovely job! Glad you could join us at TGIF this week!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

