Green and Gold Heart Tree

Long hours at work mean I don’t always have a lot of time to craft. That can make it difficult to create a card a day, as I would like to do. This card was an ideal design for a busy day. Once the idea had come to me (as it did whilst I was looking through my stamp sets and thinking about the colours green and gold) it was fairly quick and straightforward to put together.

I started by stamping out the cloud of hearts from CAS-ual Fridays’ Calm and Loving stamp set and heat embossing them in gold. I then restamped the hearts slightly off set using green pigment ink, buffing the excess ink off of the heat embossing afterwards. I also stamped the trunk of the tree with the same dark green ink.

After using my heat gun to ensure the ink was dry, I took one of the sentiments from the same stamp set and heat embossed that in gold overlapping the trunk of the tree.

My initial plan for the card would have ended at that point, but I felt it needed something more. I decided to add some ink blending behind the cloud of hearts. I initially took a midtone green and blended that over, but after some consideration I went back in with a lighter green, mostly around the edges, and the same dark green that I used for the stamping which I concentrated in the centre.

I’m pleased with this card. Despite its simplicity is is striking. Adding the ink blending was definitely the right choice, as it gave some depth to the otherwise single layer card. I do really like how the shadow effect looks with the double stamped hearts, and I think I will employ the same technique in future.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

CAS(E) This Sketch – Sketch/Layout

Craft Stamper – Anything Goes with Stamping

Daring Cardmakers – Green and A Glimmer of Gold

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday – Bit O’ Green

STAMPlorations CAS Card Challenge – Anything CAS Goes

 

14 thoughts on “Green and Gold Heart Tree

Leave a Reply

