Bunny Birthday Train – SSS Hopping Along Card Kit

This is the third card I have made with the Hopping Along card kit. I want to try to get ten done from the kit in total, preferably before I move on to using the next kit which should be arriving soon. (I say “should”… the tracker was showing it in Helsinki on Monday morning only for it to be displaying as back in Chicago in the afternoon, having taken 5 days to get from Chicago to Helsinki in the first place. Today it has apparently gone from Philadelphia to Cologne in the space of 6 hours. I’m not sure I trust the tracker…) It was a fairly simple card to make, but just the sort of thing I needed given the rut I’ve been in lately!

I started by creating my hills. I used a green patterned paper from the Doodlebug Easter Express 6×6 paper pad, included in the kit, and die cut stitched slopes using both of the non-scalloped dies from Pink and Main’s Scallop Waves Dies. I also sponged a light layer of green ink along the upper edge of each hill to add some dimension between them.

Taking my front hill panel, I put it into my MISTI and selectively stamped a birthday sentiment which I took from the Clearly Besotted Feeling Sheepish stamp set.

I then applied tape runner to the back of my back hill and adhered it into position on a card base made from Simon Says Stamp Sea Glass card stock which came with the kit. I used foam tape to attach the front hill panel.

Next I took some of the stickers from the Doodlebug Easter Express Mini Icons Sticker sheet. I chose the engine and three of the little carriages to create my train, and pressed them into place on the back hill. I added the steam puffs coming from the engine’s chimney, and a happy sun smiling down on the scene. I decided to enhance the head of the train driver bunny by adding a Doodlebug Bunnies Sprinkle over the top of it, giving some dimension.

At that point I was done to the point that I had planned, but I wasn’t quite happy with it. In the end I added a flower and leaves (from the sticker sheet) to the left hand corner to help balance the card a bit more.

I’m happy enough with this card. I feel like it’s not anything special, but at least I’m making something! I really haven’t used stickers before on cards so it definitely is different from what I usually do. The stickers are sweet, but I can’t help but feel like I cheated somehow!

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Craftyhazelnut’s Patterned Paper – Patterned Paper

Cupcake Inspirations – Birthday with a Twist (I chose “bunnies” for my twist.)

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday – Anything Goes

Stamplorations CAS Card Challenge – CAS and Optional: Sky Blue

TCP Tuesdays – Spring

Uniko Studios – Spring

Watercooler Wednesday – Anything Goes

Work It Wednesday – Spring

38 thoughts on “Bunny Birthday Train – SSS Hopping Along Card Kit

  1. What a fun card, Charlotte. The Designer papers are the perfect choice for your little train scene. I love the stitched dies you’ve used. But my favourite is that wonderful little bunny birthday train. I don’t blame you for wanting to get more cards created from this kit. It appears to be very versatile. Thanks so much for joining our Watercooler Wednesday Challenge this week.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Such a cheerful and happy little card Charlotte. One has to just smile looking at the “bunny train”. So cute! Thanks for sharing your talents at the Watercooler Wednesday WWC112 Anything Goes Challenge. Loved it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

