Birthday Bookshelves

As I said in my previous post, I made two cards today. And thinking about it now, that’s pretty impressive given that I have been in such a creative rut recently! In any case, this card is a quick birthday card that I put together. I decided to really let the patterned paper shine on this one.

I started by trimming the piece of patterned paper to fit my card front. I lined the ‘shelves’ up with the guide on my paper trimmer to ensure I would cut correctly.

Next I decided to add interest to the card base by stamping “happy birthday” over it repeatedly using embossing ink to give a watermark look. I used a variety of stamps from various stamp sets to create the sentiment pattern.

I then used foam tape on the back of the patterned paper to adhere it to the card base with some dimension.

This really was a very simple card to put together. I had initially planned on adding letters to some of the books in order to spell out “Happy Birthday” but I decided against it because I didn’t want to mess up. I think the sentiment pattern works well enough without needing another sentiment added to the card. I do like this card, particularly as it would work well as a masculine card, and I never seem to have enough of those!

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Craftyhazelnut’s Patterned Paper Challenge – Patterned Paper

Cupcake Inspirations – Birthday with a Twist (I chose the “story time” prompt as my twist)

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday – Anything Goes

The Heart Desires – Mood Board (I thought the globe reflects the spirit of the maps, and I also feel the patterned paper ties in many of the colours provided.)

Watercooler Wednesday – Anything Goes

 

20 thoughts on “Birthday Bookshelves

  1. What a wonderful birthday card, especially for a teacher or librarian. Those books and the globe are perfectly framed by your sentiments. I especially love the colours you’ve used. Thanks so much for joining our Watercooler Wednesday Challenge this week.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the patterned paper and the way you have utilized it. Yes, I think if you had put the Happy Birthday letters on the books , it would have taken away from the total look. I love the way you displayed the Happy birthday on the bottom and embossed it. Great look1 Thank you for sharing your creativity with us on Watercooler Wednesday.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

