Dashing Reindeer

I decided to make two cards today. Of course I decided it when it was already late in the evening, so I tried to make them fairly quick and simple! This first one is a Christmas card with a very traditional colour scheme.

First I trimmed a snippet of red card stock to a size that would comfortably fit my reindeer stamp which is from the Docrafts Create Christmas Reindeer stamp set. I then stamped and heat embossed the reindeer in white, before filling it in using my white Caran d’Ache pencil.

Next I trimmed down my patterned paper panel and created my sentiment strip. I used the same white card as the card base is made of, and stamped a simple Christmas sentiment from Pink & Main’s hOWLidays stamp set.

With each of the elements completed I dug out some gold mirror card and created mats for them all, to help tie them together. I then decided to also add some gold heat embossed stars, from the Reindeer stamp set, to the side of the red panel as it was feeling a bit plain.

I used Tombow Multi Mono Liquid Glue to adhere each panel to its mat, as well as to adhere the sentiment panel to the red, and the patterned paper panel to the card base. I wanted the focal panel to be raised up so I cut a piece of craft foam to fit behind it, and used double-sided tape to attach the foam to the focal panel, and then to attach that to the card base.

This is a fairly simple card. I think it works though – the gold helps to pull the different elements together. I like the way the stamped reindeer is highlighted and really draws the eye.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge – Anything Christmas

Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge Extra – Anything Christmas

Craftyhazelnut’s Patterned Paper Challenge – Use Patterned Paper

Merry Monday – Red, Green and White

Rudolph Days – Anything Christmas

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday – Anything Goes

Watercooler Wednesdays – Anything Goes

Your Next Stamp Sketch and Color Challenge – Sketch/Layout

 

28 thoughts on “Dashing Reindeer

      1. That’s good to know… 😉 I do sometimes wonder if the people I send cards to keep them. Especially the ones that took most time and effort. I’m afraid to ask though, in case it turns out they are all being binned!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Hi,
    your card is very lovely and a wonderful design full of Christmas colours.
    Love your super reindeer as it’s so gorgeous.
    Thank you for joining the Rudolf Challenge.
    Lots of crafty love. Jenny L. DT

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a great Christmas card you’ve created. I love the bold statement the white reindeer makes against the beautiful red and green background papers. Thanks for sharing at the Watercooler Wednesday WWC112 Anything Goes Challenge.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love your vibrant Christmas card. The colours of your paper offer a wonderful compliment to your leaping reindeer. Love the touches of gold. Thanks so much for joining our Watercooler Wednesday Challenge this week.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Really lovely traditional style card, the white reindeer is perfect on the red card.
    Thank you for sharing with us at Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge x

    Liked by 1 person

  5. What a beautiful Christmas Card! I love the colors – red,green, & white go beautifully together. This is a great card. Thank you for joining and sharing your creation with us on Watercooler Wednesday. It was nice to see a Christmas card on our Challenge Blog.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

