Sending Smiles – SSS Hopping Along Card Kit

This is the fourth card I’ve made using the Simon Says Stamp Hopping Along card kit. (Click here to see the others.) I did bring in a stamp that wasn’t included in the set this time – the very pretty butterfly stamp. The other stamps and the sequins are from the kit.

The floral panel is one I made when I first played with the Mod Flower Background stamp. First I stamped and heat embossed the background with clear embossing powder onto watercolour paper. I then watercoloured each section using Spiced Marmalade Distress Ink. Then when I came to start making this card I trimmed down the panel with my paper trimmer to make a hexagon.

Next I stamped a Knorr Prandell butterfly onto another piece of watercolour paper and heat embossed it, this time using gold. I then took some pigment inks in various shades of blue and sponged them onto the butterfly. I also went in with a bit of dark purple along the edge closest to the butterfly’s body to add more depth. I then carefully fussy cut the image staying as close to the embossed line as possible.

For my sentiment I used some masking to create the sentiment I wanted from a couple of different stamps in the Easter Greetings set from the card kit. First I gold heat embossed the “hello” onto a piece of vellum. Initially I was going to use a strip with torn edges but the tearing just looked too messy… So I fussy cut around the hello, and created a second, neat-edged vellum strip to add the rest of my sentiment to. I masked off the “Easter” from the centre, and stamped and embossed each side at a time before doing the next.

I used my glue pen behind the lines of the “hello” and, with the strip lined up on the flower panel, pressed the hello into position. I then used Tombow Multi Mono Liquid Glue on the back off the butterfly and pressed that into place too. Turning the floral panel over I scored the ends of the vellum strip and bent them around behind the panel. I attached them in place with the foam tape that I was adding to the back of the panel, then adhered the floral panel to the card base.

As a final touch I used some of the Sunshine Mix sequins that came with the kit to add a little extra embellishment to the card.

Initially I was worried about how this card would turn out. I couldn’t quite get the plan together in my mind, the first couple of butterflies I made just didn’t seem right, and as I mentioned my attempt at vellum tearing was a mess. In the end though I think it turned out rather well! I do still struggle with sequins though… I have quite a hard time working out how many to use, how to group them, where to place them…

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Butterfly Challenge – Butterflies, Repeat and Night Sky (The flower background is a repeating pattern, and I aimed for night sky colours with my butterfly.)

CAS-ual Fridays – No Dies (All the cutting was done either using my paper trimmer or by fussy cutting.)

Mod Squad – Use Gold

Muse – Inspiration Card (I picked up on almost all the elements – flowers, shades of blue, white panel with orange, vellum sentiment strip, gold heat embossing, sequins…)

Sonja K’s Muse card

TCP Tuesdays – Spring

Uniko Challenge – Spring

Watercooler Wednesday – Anything Goes

Work It Wednesday – Spring

30 thoughts on “Sending Smiles – SSS Hopping Along Card Kit

  1. Hi Charlotte, what a stunning card! Love the hexagon filled with those heat embossed, watercoloured flowers. That makes a wonderful background for your vellum stamped with the butterfly and sentiment. Great job cutting around part of the butterfly and sentiment to make them stand out so well against the background. Thanks so much for joining our Watercooler Wednesday Challenge this week.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Heidi 🙂 The butterfly is actually on watercolour paper, and the hello is on its own piece of vellum – I just adhered them over the main vellum strip which gives the impression that they are coming from it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Delightful card featuring the Hop Along Kit. I like the positioning of the butterfly and your beautiful vellum Hello. Well thought out and detailed. Thanks so much for joining us at the Watercooler Wednesday challenge WWC112 Anything Goes, this week.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I like the hexagon shape of your flowers and the butterfly is a perfect night sky colour. Thank you for fluttering by my challenge hugs Mrs ?A.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Beautiful design and so effective on your kraft card base. Love the floral stencilling behind the butterfly too. Great to see you play along with us at Uniko this month. x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

