Cold Noses Warm Hearts

This card was one of the more time-consuming ones I have made because I had to wait for the paint to dry between layers. It makes a change for me to do proper watercolour painting – usually when I watercolour I use watercolour pencils. It was certainly a nice change doing it this way!

I started by stamping and heat embossing the snow couple from Art Impressions’ Merriest Christmas Set. I used black embossing powder, which I do not like – not sure why I chose that instead of black ink and clear powder, but never mind!

Once the embossing powder was heat set I started on colouring the images using some watercolour paints. I am by no means an expert at painting (I rarely do it) so I tried to keep it fairly simple. with a limited colour palette. I mostly used colours directly as they came in the palette rather than blending them, though I did, for example, create the purple on the lamp-post. I tried to add in a hint of shadowing here and there. I also added a flow of yellow coming from the candle in the lamp and also added some light yellow highlights to the scarf, snow people and snow anywhere that I felt the light would be cast on them.

The painting was the most time-consuming part as I went back in several times adjusting the colours. After it was finished and completely dried I trimmed the panel down, then used it as a guide to work out the size for my second panel.

The second panel didn’t need much decoration as I knew it would mostly be hidden by my image panel. I stamped it with twoย branchy stamps from a Panduro Hobby set using a soft brown ink. My last bit of stamping was the sentiment, which comes from the Merriest Christmas set. I stamped it onto a snippet of the watercolour paper I’d used for the other panels, then added a very light wash of the paint I’d used for the snow people’s carrot noses.

As a bit of extra interest I cut some branches from the Tim Holtz Sizzix Spring Greenery decorative strip and created an intertwined line of them to go across the card front. I used my glue pen to adhere them together whilst everything else was adhered using my tape runner. I decided on a red card base to add an extra pop of colour to the card.

I had a lot of fun with this card. I may not be great at painting, but it was fun nonetheless! I do think I will try to do it more often. I’d love to get some Zigs and try with them… I like the added touches of the branches, both the die cut ones and the ones stamped on the back panel. They’re a nice extra element that adds some interest whilst still tying in well with the rest of the card – the snow people have branch limbs, after all!

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

 

Addicted To Stamps and More – Anything Goes

Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge – Anything Christmas

Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge Extra – Anything Christmas

Merry Monday – Christmas and Twigs/Branches

Mojo Monday – Sketch/Layout

16 thoughts on “Cold Noses Warm Hearts

  1. Great job with watercolouring, Charlotte. Can definitely see shading with your painting which creates depth and dimension. Love the glow of light from the lamppost. The images pop with the red card base and the die-cut twigs are very creative and fun.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A really cute card and I love that sentiment.

    Thanks for joining us at Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge Extra – hope to see you again in May.

    Helen x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

