Hello Spring Kitty

When I arrived home today there was a package of crafty fun waiting for me! And of course when I sat down to start making a card for today I just had to include one of my fun new goodies. I really had a lot of fun putting this card together and am very happy with how it turned out! It did take a bit longer than planned though.

I started by using the Flower Border die from Lawn Fawn (one of my new goodies!) and cutting it twice from a snippet of white card. I then added colour to the flower by sponging on ink. I used Spun Sugar distress ink on some of the flowers and Milled Lavender on the others. I then took some green ink (a generic pigment ink that I have) and sponged that onto the stems, leaves and hills. I then cut a circle from the same white card and roughly sponged on some blue ink to give the impression of sky. The colour was a bit too intense on my first attempt, so I flipped the circle over and reinked on the other side, making sure to use less colour as I wanted it very subtle.

Next I stamped one of the cats from The Greeting Farm’s Purfect Cats. I used a very pale ink so that I could do some (nearly) no-line colouring. I used my watercolour pencils to lay down the colour, then blended it out with my Wink of Stella. Actually, a replacement Wink of Stella was one of the goodies I got today, but I used the old one on the cat as I didn’t want it to be too glittery. I then die cut it with the coordinating die.

At this point I decided to start laying out my scene to check how it looked. I realised I didn’t like that the cat was visible through the centres of the purple flowers. In order to correct this, I found the centres to the flowers (which I had binned – thankfully the bin I use for crafting rubbish was almost completely empty so it wasn’t hard to find them) and inked them with spun sugar. I glued the back hill into place on the circle and added the front hill, using my glue pen for both. I also used my glue pen to add in the flower centres and then slotted the cat into place, again using my glue pen to adhere it.

Moving on to my card base I decided to add some interest by scoring lines through the card base. I used the channel in my paper cutter along with my bone folder to make the lines.

After laying the circle panel onto the card base I decided it still needed something extra. I thought I would add some clouds. I was considering doing either vellum clouds or white, and either solid clouds or just the frame outlines. In the end I went for a combination! I cut the outlines of the clouds from white card using Lawn Fawn’s Simple Puffy Cloud Frames and then cut the same sized clouds from vellum using the Simple Puffy Clouds. I then used my glue pen on the back of the frames and adhered them into place over the vellum clouds, then onto the focal panel. I then spent quite some time trying to decide whether to leave the clouds overhanging the circle or trim away the excess. In the end I decided to trim it. I regretted it immediately! But… I think it was the right decision.

I was planning on stopping there but decided I should add a sentiment. I considered stamping one but wasn’t sure what colour ink to use as black seemed too harsh. Eventually I decided to use the “hello” from the Friendship Expressions Thinlits. I blended some Spun Sugar onto a leftover piece of the white card and cut the sentiment from that. The next problem was working out where to put it. I considered putting it below the circle to the right hand side, or else on the grass. I took the whole thing to husband for some help deciding and we were almost settled putting it on the grass when he semi-jokingly suggested putting it in the cloud. Well, turns out that was a genius idea because it fitted perfectly! So that’s what I did, again using my glue pen to adhere it in place.

The last thing to do was adhere the focal panel onto the card base. I wanted to have some dimension so I cut a snippet of craft foam to just smaller than the panel and attached it with double sided tape.

I am really happy with this card! It’s sweet and soft, perfect for spring and just really happy. The colouring worked out nicely, despite some initial troubles with it. And I really love the flower border. I must get myself some other border dies! I’d undoubtedly get a lot of use out of grassy borders, and I’d also like a cloud border. Maybe a mountain one too… Hm… Ah, who am I kidding. I want them all!

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Farm Fresh Challenge – Spring Flowers

Paru’s Card Making Challenge – Anything Goes

Seven Hills Crafts Challenge – Sketch/Layout (I changed the oval to a circle as I don’t have oval dies. I used several items that are available in their store: the Flower Border, Simple Puffy Clouds, Simple Puffy Clouds Frame, and Wink of Stella.)

12 thoughts on “Hello Spring Kitty

Leave a Reply

