Merry and Bright Owl

Today’s card combines two things I haven’t done for a while – a Christmas card (my last was about a month ago) and no-line colouring (actually only a couple of weeks ago, I see!) This card is also slightly less CAS than the other cards I’ve created this week, but after the other projects I had worked on today (which I will no doubt share in the next few days) I felt like making something with a few more layers!

My starting point was the owl and wreath. Initially that was the only element I knew I wanted to have! It comes from Pink and Main’s hOWLidays. I was planning on stamping with black ink but changed my mind and decided to do some no-line colouring instead, so I instead stamped with my palest ink which is a bronze colour (not that the colour really matters!) I then used my watercolour pencils to add in the colour, and blended it out with my Wink of Stella. I used four shades of brown for the owl, an orange and two yellows for the beak and feet, four reds for the bow and baubles on the wreath, and four greens on the wreath itself. I do struggle with light direction, but I aimed for it to look as though the light is coming from towards the top left, and I think I was reasonably successful at that! I tried to make sure I added shape and dimension. And especially on the wreath I aimed to add some texture. I also went in with a black pencil for the pupils, and added some half moons of grey to he eyes just to add a hint of dimension to them. Once I was happy with the colouring I die cut it with the coordinating die.

Next I decided to use the little bow stamp from the same set and create my own patterned paper panel. I picked out a dusky blue snippet and used a Memory Box Studio Square Layers die to cut it out. I then stamped randomly over it with the bow stamp and heat embossed in white. I forgot to use my anti-static tool before hand so did have some stray flecks of powder. I used a paintbrush to remove what I could, and the layout allowed me to hide the worst of what was left anyway.

I wanted to add some stars and found a snippet of starry paper that I thought would work nicely. I trimmed that down to fit along my card. In order to help the patterned panels feel tied together I decided to mat them both with gold mirror card. I’m running low on gold mirror card so had to be a bit creative with my snippets! I cut down a piece just larger than the bow patterned paper and then gutted the centre of it so that I could use that on another project. I didn’t have any snippets long enough for the mat on the star strip, so instead I cut a few narrow strips of the gold mirror card and carefully lined them up when adhering, in order to give the impression of it being one long strip. The join on the lower strip is visible but only if you know what you’re looking for.

The final element to add was the sentiment. I considered stamping a banner, but then decided I’d rather put it directly onto the star paper. The sentiment comes from Lawn Fawn’s Merry Messages and I stamped it with black pigment ink before adding clear embossing powder and heat embossing it. I did remember to use the anti-static tool, but it doesn’t matter so much with clear powder anyway!

With all the elements ready I just needed to assemble the card. I had already used my glue pen to adhere the faux mats to their appropriate panels. I then used my tape runner on the back of the bow panel and positioned that where I wanted it. I put Tombow Multi Mono Liquid Glue on the lower half of the owl and attached it to the star panel. I then put foam tape behind the star panel and the overhanging portion of the wreath in order to adhere them with some dimension.

I’m pleased with this card. It’s not perfect, and there are things that I think I would do differently were I to make this card again. But I am very pleased with the no-line colouring. It turned out better than I had expected and reminded me that I should try this technique more often! I also like the look of the sentiment on the patterned paper, and am pleased with how the gold mirror card helps bring everything together.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Allsorts Challenge – Embossing (I used heat embossing)

Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge – Anything Christmas and Optional: Stars

Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge Extra – Anything Christmas

Craftyhazelnut’s Patterned Paper Challenge – Patterned Paper

Mojo Monday – Sketch/Layout

Muse: ChristmasVisions – Inspiration Card (the elements I picked up on were: ‘merry and bright’, bird, red, bow, dusky blue, wreath, green)

Sweet Stampin’ Christmas – Anything Christmas

 

16 thoughts on “Merry and Bright Owl

Leave a Reply

