Terrible Twos

The little boys I nanny are both turning two this month. Thing 1’s birthday is this coming week, and Thing 2’s is just over a week later. I’d been thinking about making cards with them for them to give to each other, and when one of the mum’s asked about doing so I decided I really ought to!

Both cards started the same way. I took some watercolour paper with me to work and let the boys go to town on it with some water based markers. I then used a wet wipe to draw the colour out somewhat across the paper to give more coverage along with the lines and dots they’d added. I then took the coloured papers home with me to turn into cards.

The first card is the one from Thing 1 to Thing 2. I stamped the dinosaurs from Pink and Main’s Dinomite onto the coloured watercolour paper and fussy cut them. I added a little extra colour to the details here and there to help the dinosaurs look more dimensional. I then set them aside. Next I used the Pink and Main Scallop Wave Dies to cut hills from the second piece of paper that Thing 1 had coloured for me. One side was green, which I used for the hills, and the other was blue which I used for the sky. I still had scraps left from the first paper so I cut a sun from a yellow area using a circle die, and some clouds from pale areas using Lawn Fawn’s Simple Puffy Clouds. I later went back and cut a balloon, party hat and present from some of the remaining scraps.

I decided to stamp part of the sentiment onto the sun. I had to mask off the “is dinosaur for” as I wanted to split it across two lines. I used a black pen to add the dots after “for”. I then stamped the rest of the sentiment onto the inside of the card.

I adhered the sky panel onto the card base with my tape runner, then added in my hills. The sun and clouds are also adhered with the tape runner. The dinosaurs on the front are all adhered with Tombow Multi Mono Liquid Glue. I then added the fourth dinosaur inside the card beside the sentiment, stuck the party hat onto him, and added the present and balloon to the other side of the sentiment, and that was the card finished.

For the second card, from Thing 2 to Thing 1, I decided to create balloon animals as Thing 1 really likes balloons! I ended up using less of the colouring for this second card…

I stamped onto the card with all four of the characters from the Wild Cuddly Critters stamp set that came in the Simon Says Stamp April Card Kit then fussy cut them. I decided to use a piece of patterned paper from the card kit as the panel for backing the images. For the sentiment I used black ink and clear embossing powder to heat emboss the “wild” from one of the stamps in the Critters set. The rest of the sentiment is from Altenew’s Halftone Happy. I added some shading to the bottom of the bold letters with my watercolour pencils and blended it up with my Wink of Stella.

Before adhering the animal balloons to the patterned paper I worked out how I wanted to position them and then drew in some lines with a black pen to look like the strings on the balloons. I then used my Tombow Multi Mono Liquid Glue to adhere three of the animals to the patterned paper panel, and adhered that to the card base using my tape runner. I then applied a layer of Glossy Accents over the animals to give the glossy look of balloons, left it to dry, then repeated with a second layer. Once that was completely dry I adhered the remaining animal inside the card, adding a string again, and added a layer of Glossy Accents.

I’m happy with how these cards turned out and I hope they will be appreciated! The dinosaur card highlights Thing 1’s colouring well enough, but I’m slightly concerned that perhaps I bought in too many other elements on the balloon card. Should I have just made cards straight from the coloured panels, adding nothing but a sentiment..? Maybe I got carried away trying to make things into what I think of as a homemade card. I don’t know. I guess I’ll have to wait and see what the parents say.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Craftyhazelnut’s Patterned Paper Challenge – Patterned Paper (for the second card)

Pink and Main – Anything Goes (for the first card, which features their products)

Seize the Birthday – Anything Goes with a Birthday Theme

6 thoughts on “Terrible Twos

Leave a Reply

