Birthday Sunshine – SSS Hopping Along Card Kit

I decided to pull out Simon Says Stamp’s Hopping Along card kit for today’s card. This was the special limited edition card kit for Easter, and the elements were just perfect for what I wanted to make. Actually this ended up very similar to a card I made previously with this kit.

I started by cutting a snippet of watercolour paper to fit my card front, then stamped and clear embossed the Mod Flower background stamp. I used Spiced Marmalade Distress Ink and the smooshing technique to colour in the background.

Once the panel was dry I used one of the Pink & Main Scallop Wave Dies to trim the panel down. I then used the coordinating wave to cut a white panel with scallop to go behind the smooshed panel.

I used a couple of retired Memory Box square dies to cut a frame for my shaker portion from a snippet of orange, and decided to use the remainder from the interior to back the shaker. I also used the larger of the dies to cut my acetate window and adhered it to the frame using Glossy Accents.

I decided to add a sentiment into the shaker area. I white heat embossed a sentiment from the Easter Greetings stamp set onto the background square. I also white heat embossed “happy birthday” from Altenew’s Super Script onto the orange card base.

At this point I started assembling. I used a layer of foam tape behind my smooshed panel with the scalloped border and adhered that to the card base. I then used Tombow Multi Mono Liquid Glue to attach the “hello sunshine” square to the card base. I added a bunch of sequins from the Sunshine Sequins Mix onto the square, then adhered the frame and acetate over the top. The frame was adhered with three layers of foam tape for some volume.

The final touch was to add a bit more shimmer with two layers of Wink of Stella on the frame.

Overall I’m pleased with this card, but there are a couple of exceptions. I feel I should have actually cut a larger square to use as the background for the shaker as the background is visible around the edge of it. I also realised after I’d got quite far through the process of the card that the orange I used for the shaker element does not match the orange of the card base… It’s not super obvious, at least, but now that I’ve noticed it I find it annoying. I had considered adding a character of some sort to the card (perhaps a fairy) but in the end decided against it.

Also, whilst I was writing this post I was eating chocolate. Chocolate that has orange flavoured chunks in it. Seems appropriate.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

AAA Cards – Birthday

Less Is More – Shimmer

Mod Squad – Birthday

MFT Sketch Challenge – Sketch/Layout (I changed it up a little based on what I have available to me.)

Simon Says Stamp Work It Wednesday –  Sunshine

 

19 thoughts on “Birthday Sunshine – SSS Hopping Along Card Kit

  1. Charlotte, this is a really sunny card! Love the warm colour scheme you used and the delicate watercoloured panel you created. Thank you so much for sharing your card with us at AAA Cards 3rd Birthday Challenge.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Delicious, sunny and cheery colour choice. Lovely attention to detail and love your added shimmer too. Those sequins work a treat. Thanks for playing along with us and celebrating our 3rd birthday challenge at AAA Cards and for joining us at Less is More this week too.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. A super-sizzling-hot shaker card Charlotte! Your smooshed paper is lush and it still remains delicate at the same time. Great idea to add the Wink of Stella to the frame. The sentiment really pops on that hot orange. Thanks so much for playing along with us at Less is More xx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Pop-Up Butterfly Shaker | The Joyful Soul Creates

Leave a Reply

