Starry Joyful Tidings

Today I decided to put together a quick and simple Christmas card featuring some patterned paper. The paper pack these come from is one of the first I got when I started card making. As I was looking through what I had left of it I noticed I have been using the papers in a pretty biased way! I’ve definitely been using particular colour patterns more than others.

What I found when I started to look for papers (from this set) to use was that I’ve used most of the white-and-gold and white-and-silver patterns but barely touched any of the others. I did still want to use a white-and-gold pattern so I used the last snippet I had and cut a circle from it. The snippet was just big enough for the circle die.

I then picked out a sheet which was the same pattern but in dark blue and white. This is the first time I’ve used this pattern but it seemed like a good choice for what I wanted to do. I trimmed it down to make a strip for the side of my card.

For my sentiment I picked a stamp from the retired Joyful Tidings set from Pink & Main. I stamped it onto the circle and heat embossed in gold.

I assembled the card by adhering the strip to my white card base using my tape runner. I used a layer of foam tape to adhere the circle so that it would have some dimension.

I’m really happy with this card. It was definitely a very quick one to put together, which is handy given how busy I’ve been lately. I love how the white and gold circle looks almost like a full moon shining against that deep blue that could be the night sky.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Christmas at Sweet Stampin’ – Anything Christmas

Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge – Anything Christmas and Optional: Use Some Gold

Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge Extra – Anything Christmas

Craftyhazelnut’s Patterned Paper Challenge – Patterned Paper

Pixie’s Snippets Playground – Snippets

Rudolph Days – Anything Christmas

Simon Says Stamp Monday – Circles

Sweet Stampin’ – Use Your Stash (As mentioned the patterned papers are both amongst the oldest things in my stash. Admittedly that’s still only about 2 years old, so not exactly ancient compared to many other crafters’ stashes. That’s what comes of me being fairly new to this!)

Your Next Stamp Sketch and Color Challenge – Sketch/Layout

 

29 thoughts on “Starry Joyful Tidings

  1. Hi,
    Happy Rudolf Days.
    what a very lovely card and those papers used are fab.
    Super design also.
    Thank you for joining the Rudolf Challenge.
    Lots of crafty love. Jenny L. GD

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The two papers look great together Charlotte and it is good to use up all your old Christmas stash, and you have made a really lovely clean and elegant card. I hate to say it but I have old Christmas bits and pieces going back a long way. Thank you for joining in with the May Rudolph Days Challenge. x

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Beautiful! Super cute use of your older stash. Thanks for playing along with the Sweet Stampin’ ‘Use Some Old Stash’ challenge. I LOVE what you did for this challenge. Hugs, Wends xoxo Sweet Stampin’ DT

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Charlotte, a gorgeous card and love that you had a snippety bit just the perfect size for the card, it is a really beautiful paper. Thank you for coming along to play in Snippets Playground this fortnight, good luck in the draw…. have a wonderful week… Megan GD

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

