Watercolour Birthday

I pulled out my watercolour paints for today’s card. Generally if I do watercolouring I use my watercolour pencils, but I felt like using my paints for a change, and I’m so pleased I did! I had a lot of fun doing it and am very pleased with the results.

I started with a snippet of watercolour paper which I painted blue at the top fading to green at the bottom. I kept my colour fairly light, lifting it off with a tissue if it got too intense, and building it up in layers. I left the panel to try before die cutting it with a retired Memory Boxย square die. I also made a wash of yellow watercolour which I die cut with a simple circle to represent my sun.

Next I stamped the cow from Avery Elle’s Hogs and Kissesย using MFT Black Licorice Hybrid Ink. I then watercoloured the cow and heart, again working in layers and lifting up the colour if it got too intense. I stamped a fly from the same stamp set and die cut both with the coordinating dies.

I wanted to add some flowers to the scene but don’t have any little flower stamps. I was at a loss as to what I could use and hunting through my supplies for options when I came across the Lawn Fawn Simple Flower Border die. I cut it from another snippet of watercolour paper, cut the flowers away from the border, and painted them.

Whilst the flowers dried I added my sentiment to the painted background panel. The sentiment is from Clearly Besotted’s Feeling Sheepishย which has recently been retired. I stamped it with the same MFT ink. I used my MISTI and stamped three times to ensure a crisp impression on the textured paper.

The final element I needed for my card was a strip of patterned paper. I looked through my stash and found a couple of different possibilities but settled on green stripes as that seemed the best fit. I adhered them directly to my card base using my tape runner.

For a bit of added dimension I adhered a piece of craft foam behind my little panel. I then used my tape runner to attach the sun and the cow, letting them slightly overhang the edge of the panel. I used my glue pen to adhere the little fly and the parts of the flowers, making sure to add in their centres. As a final touch I added a coat of Wink of Stella to the sun, heart, flowers, and the wings of the fly.

Like I said I’m really happy with how this card turned out. The colouring came together really nicely, particularly on the cow. The rest of the painted elements are much softer but I think that works well as they are further in the background. Having the sun and cow overhang the panel adds an extra bit of interest too.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

AAA Cards – Birthday

Addicted to Stamps and More – Clean and Simple

Craftyhazelnut’s Patterned Paper Challenge – Patterned Paper

Muse Challenge – Inspiration Card (I chose this cute card. Whilst I didn’t do a square card base my square panel is inspired by it, and I took inspiration from the general layout too. I also picked up on the bright patterned paper, the watercolouring, sun, cute creature, little buzzy insect, and flowers.)

Simon Says Stamp Monday – Circles

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday – Anything Goes

Watercooler Wednesday – Anything Goes

Work It Wednesday – Sunshine

 

23 thoughts on “Watercolour Birthday

  1. Such a bright fun card – I love the watercolouring – Thanks for joining us at Watercooler Wednesday Anything Goes Challenge

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love your card(s), Charlotte. It’s hard to decide which one I love most but perhaps the bear wins out by a hair. He looks so very serious offering that bouquet, doesn’t he? I would agree whole heartedly about sunshine being my favourite accessory. Beautiful watercolouring both for the background and all the details. Thanks so much for joining our Watercooler Wednesday Challenge this week.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Such a pretty card and I love how you interpreted our challenge theme! Thank you so much for sharing and for playing along with us over on the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Blog… x

    Like

  4. Thanks for joining us at the WWC#121 Watercooler Wednesday Challenge this week Charlotte. Your cute little cow hoisting up that big heart really brought on a smile. Lovely little image. I really like the soft subtle shading you’ve done in the background and the DSP piece you picked is perfect.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

