One Of A Kind

This wasn’t the card I had planned to make today. But the idea came to me and I just had to run with it! I don’t often make masculine cards, so this is definitely a good one to have on hand. I had so much fun making it that I may have to make some more! Perhaps I’ll make other ones with the other animals in these stamp sets.

I started by cutting a panel of watercolour paper to a panel the same size as a card front. I then lined up the bear stamp, from Paper Smooches’ Chubby Chums Pals, in my MISTI and stamped it using Simon Says Stamp’sΒ Barely Beige ink. I then shifted my paper and stamped twice more so that I had three bears stamped in a row. I then also stamped the bow from Chilly ChumsΒ onto the bear in the centre to be a bow tie.

I wanted to do some no-line watercolouring which is why I used the very pale ink. I decided to use my watercolour pencils. Before starting on the colouring I used the grey colour to lightly draw a top hat onto the middle bear. I used a dark brown pencil to add colour to the on the middle bear that would be in shadow, then blended them across with my water brush. I then repeated the process on each of the other bears, allowing the first one to dry in the meantime.

I went back in with the brown several times to build up the layers of colour until I was happy with the look of the fur. I then coloured the middle bear’s accessories, using black and grey on the hat, and red for the bowtie and ribbon on the hat. I also used the black to colour the bears’ noses, and add in their eyes and mouth. In order to ground them I added some grey beneath each bear then blended it out and across the card. After letting it dry I used the black to add some slightly darker shading directly below the bears. I then used the black pencil to carefully draw a monocle onto the middle bear.

When the panel was completely dry I trimmed it down slightly before adding my sentiment. The “you are” is from Altenew’s Super Script, and the “one of a kind” is made with letters from Lawn Fawn’s Claire’s ABCs. I decided to stamp the sentiment with the Barely Beige ink rather than black, as I felt it went well with the soft look of the no-line watercolouring.

Finally I attached the panel to a card base. I considered a few different options for the card base but eventually decided on black because the panel stood out nicely against it, and I felt it helped to tie in the black elements of the image. I used foam tape to adhere the panel to the card base.

I am really very happy with this card. It took me quite a while to make as I spent a lot of time trying to get the colouring to look right. It’s still not exactly right but it’s good enough! The plan I’d originally had in my mind was to do 5 bears, but I ended up with just 3 because that’s what fitted on the card. I don’t often draw elements onto my cards but I’m quite impressed at how that top hat ended up. It almost looks like I stamped it!

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Addicted to Stamps and More – CAS

CAS On a Sunday – Repeated Image

Paper Smooches – Men

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday – Anything Goes

STAMPlorations CAS Card Challenge – CAS and Optional: Masculine ColoursSweet Stampin’ – For Dads or Special Men

Uniko Challenge – MasculineWatercooler Wednesday – Anything Goes

34 thoughts on “One Of A Kind

  1. Oh my goodness, what a darling card! Those chubby little bears simply make me smile. Love the way you’ve got them all in a row but just added that top hat and bow to the centre one. Great sentiment. Great colours. Thanks so much for joining our Watercooler Wednesday Challenge this week.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love this card – such a cute image and wonderful colouring. What a different the addition of the hat and bow make too – great card – thanks for joining us at Watercooler Wednesday Challenge this week.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What an adorable masculine creation. Love the soft colouring and sweet images. Thanks for joining our ‘For a Special Man’ challenge at Sweet Stampin’. I’m so glad you did. Hugs, Wends xoxo Sweet Stampin’ DT

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Such a sweet card!!! Thank you for joining us at Watercooler Wednesday this week for our ‘Anything Goes’ challenge. Please join us again!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. A beautiful job of colouring the cute bears; what a super cute card – can I say that and still have the card be a masculine card? Thanks for joining us at STAMPlorations CAS

    sue

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Sue! Personally I think masculine cards can be cute – I know at least two (adult) males who would like this card, so I don’t think cute cancels out masculine πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

