Fairy Window

Today’s card has a lot of pink, a lot of sparkle, and a sweet little fairy peering through a window. Surprisingly enough it actually stayed pretty true to what I’d imagined when I started making it. That’s pretty rare – my cards often go through a number of changes from what I originally imagined to the final creation.

The first thing I did was die cut my sparkly heart. I used two sizes of heart dies and ran them through my Big Shot together so that I could cut the smaller heart into the larger heart. I then took a snippet of patterned paper and cut that to a rectangle of the size I wanted my main banner, then cut the smallest heart from that before going on to cut it again from the card base, so that the heart would go all the way through once the layers were all in place.

Next I lined up the card base in my MISTI and positioned one of the fairies from Avery Elle’s Pixie DustΒ so that her face was over the window. I picked the stamp up on the MISTI door, then opened the card so that I could stamp her on the inside of the card. I then masked her off and stamped over her with the cloud of hearts from CAS-ual Fridays’ Calm and LovingΒ using Worn Lipstick Distress Oxide ink. I also ink blended around her with the same Worn Lipstick before removing the mask.

My original plan was to colour her in with watercolour pencils and blend out of Wink of Stella, but once I started I wasn’t happy with it. I changed my plans and instead paper pieced her. It did mean she had a bit more dimension than I would have preferred to have on the inside of the card, but it was still relatively flat so I didn’t mind too much. I used a variety of snippets for my paper piecing, and added shading and detail to them with my watercolour pencils. I then used my glue pen to adhere all the pieces together, and finally to adhere her onto the card base on top of the fairy I had originally stamped there.

Returning to the outside of the card I adhered my polka dot paper into place, after having cut a banner tail into it, with Tombow Multi Mono Liquid Glue, using the heart window as a guide to get it lined up. I then removed the backing paper from the sparkly heart and attached that over the banner.

The final element I needed for the card was my sentiment strip. I found a snippet of the same card the card base is made of, and stamped a sentiment from Avery Elle’s Petal Panel using the Worn Lipstick Distress Oxide. I trimmed the strip down to size, added some foam tape to the ends, then pressed it into place.

I’m rather pleased with this card. It’s very pretty and came together nicely. I’m glad I decided to do paper piecing for the fairy as it saved me a lot of frustration with the colouring! For the most part the elements weren’t too tricky to cut out, though her dress is a little difficult as are her arms. I did also skip doing her shoes as she is so small, and just coloured them in with a pencil instead.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Addicted to Stamps and More – Photo Inspiration

CAS-ual Fridays – Patterned Paper

Craftyhazelnut’s Patterned Paper Challenge – Patterned Paper

HLS Anything Goes With Dies – Anything Goes

Inkspirational – Windows

Mod Squad – Sparkle

MFT Sketch Challenge – Sketch/Layout

Pixie’s Snippets Playground – Snippets

Seven Hills Craft Challenge – Die Cut a Die Cut (Products used that are available in their store – Avery Elle’s Pixie DustΒ and Petal Panel)

18 thoughts on “Fairy Window

  1. Awe – I just adore this sweet little fairy peeking out behind that beautiful, glittery heart! Great take on the challenge, thanks so much for playing along with us this week over at The Mod Squad!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Isn’t it wonderful when what you ‘imagine’ comes to fruition, as it did for your darling card here! The sweet fairy peeking from the sparkly heart was ‘meant to be’! Charming,delightful and so incredibly pretty! So glad you shared your creativity in the Addicted to Stamps and More gallery!
    ~carol

    Liked by 1 person

  3. How wonderful that you open the card to see the entire fairy. Good for you for having the patience to paper piece her. I’m glad that your card turned out as you imagined and that you shared it with us at Addicted to Stamps and More.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is so adorable, that little fairy is so sweet. I love all the pink πŸ™‚
    Thanks so much for playing along with Seven Hills Crafts this month x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

