Sparkly Fairy Shaker

This isn’t the card I was planning on making today. I was meant to make something using some embossing paste that I made yesterday, but that will have to wait for another day because this idea came to me and I just had to run with it. I’ve had this fairy die for as long as I’ve had my Big Shot. That’d be about a year now. When I got my Big Shot I ordered it as a bundle, and it came with a random assortment of dies and embossing folders. The fairy is one of those dies. But this is the first time I’ve used her.

I started by covering a snippet of paper with double-sided tape, then ran it through my Big Shot with the fairy die so that the tape side was on top. Incidentally, the fairy is a Sizzix Thinlits called Fanciful Fairy. I took the paper out of the die and removed all the little pieces that I didn’t need. I then removed the backing paper from the tape and dumped a lot of glitter over the top. I used my finger to burnish it in, then used my bone folder to burnish it further still. I then tipped the remaining glitter back into the pot and set the fairy to one side.

Next I took a panel of tan card stock and cut a window in it using the fairy die. I made sure to keep some of the negative areas that I knew I would need. I cut down a piece of acetate to fit behind the opening and adhered it with some Glossy Accents. I used the Glossy Accents again for in-laying the glittery fairy and the negative areas of tan that needed to go between her neck and hair, and by her arms.

Turning the panel over I started applying foam tape. The foam tape I have is quite thin and with previous shakers even a double layer hasn’t felt sufficient. So today I decided to use a triple layer of foam tape. I first shaped it around the wings and the skirt, making each into their own shaker compartment, then went around the rest of the panel to add support to the whole thing. I found some little gold star sequins and poured some into each shaker compartment before carefully removing the backing from the foam tape. I then adhered a snippet of white card over the shaker compartments to back them. I added some double-sided tape to the back of the white card, removed the backing from the rest of the tape, and adhered the entire shaker panel onto a black card base.

I wasn’t sure whether to add some more of the gold stars to embellish the front of the card. I put a few in place but didn’t adhere them so that I could see if I liked it. I still wasn’t sure, but left them whilst I worked on the sentiment. The stamp I used is from Avery Elle’s Pixie Dust and seemed a perfect fit for this card! I heat embossed it with Wow! Rich Metallic Gold embossing powder onto a snippet of black card stock, then trimmed a banner tail into the end of it and adhered it to the card panel using black foam squares. At this point the star embellishments had grown on me and I decided to add them, so I used a little Glossy Accents to do that, and then the card was finished.

I’m very pleased with this card. It started out as a rather vague idea – glitter up the fairy die and make a shaker with her – but it developed into a pretty but simple card. The sentiment really is perfect, the colours work nicely, and the glitter is ridiculously sparkly!

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

HLS Anything Goes With Dies – Anything Goes

MFT Camp Create – Glitzy Glitter

 

Paru’s Card Making Challenges – Interactive

7 thoughts on “Sparkly Fairy Shaker

  1. Pingback: Glittering Gold | The Joyful Soul Creates

Leave a Reply

