From The Depths

Given that Lawn Fawn is one of my favourite stamp companies I have disturbingly few of their stamp sets. I really need to fix that. And of those that I do have most of them are not even their adorable little images – I have a couple of alphabet sets and a Christmas sentiment set. I do have one set with some very sweet farm animals, and then I have Lovable Legends which is the first set of theirs I ever got. And I still love it! Which is why I decided to have a play with it today.

I knew I wanted to make a simple scene for my card, and I started with a snippet of watercolour paper about the size of a card front. I used some masking tape to mask of sections at a time and blended over with yellow pigment ink to give the look of sunbeams. I let the beams fade off as they got further from the point of origination, but purposefully continued them below where I knew my sea would eventually be. I then went back and added a partial circle of yellow into the corner to be the sun itself.

Next I worked on my sea. I took a post-it note and used that to cover the top portion of my card. I then blended over the whole exposed area with my lightest pigment ink. I went in with three further shades of blue, concentrating the darkest at the very bottom and blending to the lightest at the top. Actually looking at it now I think I could have gone even darker with my darkest colour, but never mind.

My kraken was actually already prepared. I had coloured several a few months ago (possibly longer than that, even!) as colouring practice, and had them stored in a little snippets box. I decided to use the red one on today’s card. I then stamped the boat from the stamp set onto a snippet of white card stock. I coloured the hull and masts with brown watercolour pencils. I decided to use red for the sails to match the kraken. I used my Wink of Stella to blend out the pencil and add some shimmer in the process. I fussy cut the boat, then went around the outside with my black sharpie to cover the white core of the paper.

I laid the kraken and boat on the background panel so I could work out how I wanted everything positioned. Then I added my sentiment, which comes from the same set. Initially I was planning on stacking the sentiment so I masked off one side and stamped just the second half of the sentiment. I then moved the cleaned stamp so that the “what’s” would be above the stamped portion. However I decided I didn’t actually like how that looked, so I lined the stamp back up where I had had it, masked off the second half of the sentiment just in case, then stamped the first part.

I used my glue pen to adhere the boat and kraken into place on the ink blended panel. I then adhered that to a yellow card base with some foam tape. At this point I realised I wasn’t entirely happy with the kraken. As it wasn’t made specifically for this card I hadn’t coloured it with a particular light source in mind, but of course this card has a very obvious light source! I tried to paint over the kraken to adjust the shadows to be more accurate but it just wasn’t working so I carefully pressed a tissue over it to lift the painted colour back off. Not carefully enough though, as in doing so I managed to smudge some of the red onto my sea… Oops!

Thankfully it wasn’t too much trouble to fix, or at least hide, the smudge. I took some sequins from Simon Says Stamp’s Sunshine Mix, which I received in a card kit, and added those to the card. I used some yellow sequins amongst the sun beams, and clear in the water. A large clear sequin covered a the red smudge in the sea, and a smaller one disguised a smudge of yellow. I placed the other sequins based solely on where I thought they looked good. I used my Glossy Accents to adhere them in place.

I’m really pleased with how this card turned out, despite the problems I had with it. Colouring the kraken with the light source specifically in mind would have been better, but I don’t think it looks too terrible as it is. I really like the look of the sunbeams going into the water and disappearing as they get closer to the depths of the sea. I was worried they would turn very green when I added the blue over the yellow, but I feel like they are still noticeably yellow. Whilst I hadn’t initially planned to include sequins they do add a nice finishing touch to the card.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Daring Cardmakers – Inspired By The Sea

HLS Watercolour Challenge – Anything Goes

Lawn Fawnatics – Watercolour

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday – Anything Goes

The Cat’s Pajamas – Sand, Sea & Sky

12 thoughts on “From The Depths

  1. Yes, you definitely need more Lawn Fawn sets, they obviously inspire you. This is darling! Thanks so much for joining us over at The Cat’s Pajamas TCP Tuesday challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

