Summery Kraken – SSS Hello Summer Card Kit

I’m back from my holiday! Did you miss me? I definitely missed card making. Although I did actually do some whilst I was there – I finished off the thank you cards I was making as a wedding present. Took me a lot longer than I’d expected, and I was a bit fed up with them by the time I was done! It was very nice to be able to make something different now that I am back.

This card actually ended up taking a bit longer than I’d expected because my original idea didn’t quite work. I initially used a blue card base and heat embossed the waves in clear, as I wanted them to be quite subtle. (The waves are from the Sea You Soon stamp set which came in Simon Says Stamp’s Hello Summer card kit.) Unfortunately it was too subtle. I tried painting between the heat embossing with some blue to make it stand out more but it didn’t look right, so I changed directions and used a white card base with the waves stamped in blue.

I wanted to add a summery kraken to my card, and found one that I’d previously coloured in my stash. The kraken stamp is from Lawn Fawn’s Lovable LegendsΒ and is coloured very simply with a few different green coloured pencils.

I fussy cut some sunglasses and an ice lolly from some of the patterned papers that came in the card kit so that I could use them to make the kraken seem very summery. I carefully cut into one of the kraken’s tentacles so that I could place the lolly to appear as though the kraken is holding it. I used my glue pen to hold the lolly in place. I applied the sunglasses with foam tape for a bit of extra dimension.

Before adhering the kraken to the card base I decided to add some of the clouds from the stamp set. I used Simon Says Stamp Barely Beige ink to keep the clouds soft. Actually it perhaps wasn’t the best colour as they are a bit greyer than I would have preferred, but it works well enough.

I decided I would stamp my sentiment, from the Sea You Soon set, in ombre. I used three of the inks from the Simon Says Stamp Fresh Fruit Ink Cube set – Lemon Zest, Orange Slush, and Watermelon.

With all the stamping completed I just had to add the kraken. I used Tombow Multi Mono Liquid Glue to adhere the kraken to the card base. As a final touch I added some Glossy Accents to the sunglasses to give them a glassy shine.

I’m quite happy with this card. It did turn out a little different from my original idea, but that’s fine. I do try to be open to a card design adapting as I create. I feel there is room for improvement but I’m not entirely certain what needs to be changed/added. I feel like there is something missing though.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Addicted to CAS – Summer

Lawn Fawnatics – Summertime Fun

Simon Says Stamp Work It Wednesday – Summer

Stamplorations CAS Card Challenge – CAS

Virginia’s Summer Blog Party – Summer

Your Next Stamp Sketch and Color Challenge – Sketch/Layout

 

8 thoughts on “Summery Kraken – SSS Hello Summer Card Kit

  1. I had to look up ‘kraken’ because I wasn’t familiar with it. Adding sunglasses to him was clever but they and the Popsicle are so tiny I don’t know how you handled them. Thanks for sharing this wonderful card with us at Addicted to CAS.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

