Wishing Balloons

There was supposed to be a video accompanying this card post. I filmed it all and got the video cut down, which took quite some time. I then started watching back through it to make sure it was all looking good before adding the voice over. But for some reason as I played through the cut video it started stuttering and jumping. It was really clunky. I tried fiddling with the speed settings, but that didn’t help. It was like it was having buffering issues or something, which shouldn’t have been possible. I closed the editing software and restarted it. I even tried restarting my whole computer with no luck. I may have found a solution if I’d kept playing around but I decided it wasn’t worth it, so no video today. Hopefully there will be one next week, and it may even be recorded with our new camera if it arrives in time!

I started with a soft peachy coloured card base, which I placed into my MISTI. I then lined up my first stamp – the round balloon from Uniko’s Balloon Bash stamp set – and picked it up on the door of the MISTI. I then put the cloud of hearts from CAS-ual Friday’s Calm and LovingΒ stamp set onto an acrylic block, inked it up with Simon Says Stamp Watermelon ink (from the Fresh Fruit Hybrid InkΒ set) and ‘kissed’ the hearts to the balloon. This transferred the ink onto the balloon, which I then stamped onto the card base.

Having stamped out the pattern for my balloon I cleaned the ink off the stamp, ensuring I did not move the stamp in the process, then restamped with embossing ink. I applied a layer of clear embossing powder and heat set it. I then added a second layer of embossing powder and melted that too, resulting in a smoother layer of embossing.

I repeated the process of kissing, stamping, and heat embossing for the next four balloons, moving the stamp as required. For the middle balloon I used the longer balloons from the stamp set just to give a slightly different look. The two balloons on the right also use inks from the Fresh Fruit Stamp – the yellow is Lemon Zest and the green is Key Lime. The purple balloon uses Peony Purple VersaCraft ink. The central blue balloon used a cheap blue pigment ink. (I have a fair few of these pigment inks that I got when I first started card making. They are not great… I am working on Β replacing them, but am not yet ready to get rid of them completely because without them I have a lot of holes in my ink colour collection.)

With all the balloons ready I added some accessory pieces. I first stamped the double bow element from the balloon stamp set using Simon Says Stamp Barely Beige ink, which matched the colour of the card base very nicely! I only used the bow for the central balloon, but stamped the straight string onto all of the balloons. I had a little trouble at first with alignment, so the bow actually isn’t quite aligned with its coordinating string, but it doesn’t look too bad.

For my sentiment I went to another Uniko stamp set, Pure Florals: Cosmos. I took the scripty “Make a Wish” sentiment and stamped it below the middle balloon. It felt like an appropriate choice for a birthday card! I also used another sentiment from the set for the inside of the card, which reads “may all your birthday wishes come true”. I also added the twisty string and a balloon to go alongside the sentiment, all stamped with the Barely Beige ink for a tone on tone look.

I’m really pleased with how this card turned out. It’s not exactly what I’d originally had in mind, but it came together really nicely anyway. I love how the double heat embossed balloons look, and the stamp kissing technique was a lot of fun to add decoration to them. It didn’t work perfectly, but it doesn’t detract from the card. I actually quite like the couple of areas where the colours overlap (for example where the red and purple overlap) because this reinforces the idea of the clear balloons overlapping each other. I’d originally intended for the bright colours of the balloons to be more of a focus, but changed directions after playing around with the idea on a piece of scrap paper and realising it wouldn’t work as I’d intended. I still think doing it with bright balloons would be fun though!

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Addicted to Stamps and More – Photo Inspiration (I took inspiration from the bright colours. As mentioned above, I intended them to be more of the focus of the card, but it had other ideas!)

AAA Cards – One Layer and Coloured Cardbase

CASology – Wish

Less Is More – One Layer and Coloured Cardbase

Muse – Inspiration Card (I took inspiration from the CAS design, repeating elements and variety of colours.)

Tracey McNeely’s Muse inspiration card

 

30 thoughts on “Wishing Balloons

  1. Lovely card with great techniques. It turned out wonderfully. Your video issues sounds just like me tonight trying to upload mine for our next challenge. This is a special skill all on it’s own that requires lots of patients. LoL!! Thanks for playing along with us at AAA Cards!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Super card Charlotte; those balloons look so dimensional and the techniques you used are fab. Love your clear explaination of how you made the card. Shame about the video – I have all the joys of that to come (have bought the camera but no opportunity to use it now until at least September!) Thanks so much for playing along with us at Less is More xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

