Lavender Butterfly

Can you tell that I’m running low on white card? I used most of my stock for the thank you cards I made as a wedding gift. As a result since our return from England only one of the four (five including this one) cards I’ve made has had a white card base. I do enjoy using coloured card bases from time to time though. It’s nice to do something a bit different! But I definitely need to order another batch of the white…

I started by making a side fold card base from some pale purple card. I then lined it up in my MISTI and stamped the largest stamp from Uniko’s Marvellous Mehndi stamp set using Seedless Preserves Distress Ink. As Distress Inks aren’t really formulated for stamping I did ink and stamp twice more to make sure I got a good impression.

Next I took a snippet of purple paper that I had left from those infamous thank you cardsΒ and cut it with a butterfly from the retired Sizzix Winged Beauties die set. For some added interest I coloured over it with a couple of layers of Wink of Stella – mine is running a bit low, so it didn’t actually give that much shimmer, but there is some. I then used my bone folder to curl the wings a little, and adhered it to the centre of the Mehndi using a little Glossy Accents.

Finally I added a simple and subtle sentiment to the opposite corner of my card base. The sentiment comes from CAS-ual Friday’s Calm and Loving stamp set and I stamped it with Milled Lavender Distress Ink.

With today being my first day back at work post-holidays I wanted something fairly quick to make. This card did achieve that at least. It’s okay. I don’t dislike it, but I’m not in love with it either. I feel like it needs something a bit more, but I’m not sure what. I did consider adding some gems to the body of the butterfly for a bit more interest but it didn’t look quite right. I’m open to suggestions of what to add to this.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Allsorts Challenge – Lavender and Lace (In my opinion the mehndi is quite lacy looking!)

Time Out Challenges – CASE The Designer (The elements I picked up on were the basic layout, the flying creature over a circular pattern, and the overall CAS look.)

Inspiration card by Cornelia of Stempel Spass.
14 thoughts on “Lavender Butterfly

Leave a Reply

