Sea You Soon – SFL Pirates and Mermaids Kit

Today I have another card to share which I made with the Scrapping For Less pirate and mermaid themed June card kit. There are no mermaids or pirates on this card though! Instead I created a sweet watercolour scene with a jellyfish, seahorse and a variety of fish.

I started by cutting down a snippet of watercolour paper to be the panel for my scene. I then stamped out all my elements onto it using MFT Black Licorice Hybrid Ink which is waterproof. The jellyfish comes from Lawn Fawn’s So Jelly and the other elements are from Mermaid For You. I then stamped some of the bubbles from each set at random in the empty space. Next I took my watercolour paints and added a wash of blue over the whole panel, concentrating the colour towards the bottom.

I did have a problem watercolouring this panel, and it was entirely my fault. Making this as part of my marathon creating session meant that I was a bit impatient to get it done, because I was trying to complete one card at a time. Really I should have set it aside to dry every now and again, and worked on a different card in the meantime. But sometimes I’m not very clever!

Having finished the blue wash I added in some brown at the bottom to represent the sandy sea bed. I also added brown and a little grey to the rock. I then worked on colouring all my little critters. As I had the wash of blue over everything I made sure to use colours that would work well over the blue. I chose various shades of green for my fish, and purple for the jellyfish. For the seahorse I was able to go with red and yellow as the blue at the top of the panel was not very pigmented.

Once I’d finished all the painting I set the panel aside whilst I worked on the other elements. I picked out a couple of papers from Echo Park’s Let’s Be Mermaids which came in collection two of the kit. I die cut a large square from the purple paper (Bubble Up) and a strip of the rainbow paper (Happy Sun Rays). I also initially added the whale sticker from the coordinating stickers to a die cut circle of vellum with the intention of using that on the card. I ended up decided that was too big and instead cut a smaller vellum circle, and stamped and white heat embossed a sentiment from Mermaid for You onto it. (I did end up using the whale-and-vellum circle on another card.)

With all the elements ready I started assembling the card. The card base is folded from one of the bits of card stock that came in the kit. I then adhered the purple square using my tape runner before adding the rainbow stripes over the top. I used my corner chomper on the corners of my watercolour panel to round them, then used my tape runner to add it too and then realised I had my card upside down… Luckily I was able to peel it off and adhere it the right way up! I added some liquid glue behind the letters on the vellum panel and adhered that into place too. (The layout I used is the second sketch suggested in the June Flavor of the Month Card Sketches which is Mojo Monday Sketch 422.) As a final touch I added Glossy Accents to all of the bubbles.

Whilst I do like this card I feel like I didn’t execute it as well as I could. I would definitely be happier with the card if I had done a better job of the painting. Nonetheless I am happy with how all the elements came together. I like the sketch too and may resuse it sometime.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Addicted to Stamps and More – Make Your Mark

Craftyhazelnut’s Patterned Paper Challenge – Patterned Paper

HLS Anything Goes With Dies Challenge – Anything Goes

HLS Watercolour Challenge – Anything Goes and Optional: Blue

The Heart Desires – Inspiration Image

12 thoughts on “Sea You Soon – SFL Pirates and Mermaids Kit

  1. Love the colours you have used ,all your little sea creatures look very happy.
    Thanks for sharing with Craftyhazelnuts patterned paper challenge.
    Hugs
    Margaret M DT

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

