Birthday Sheep

I haven’t shared any cards for a few days. There’s really no excuse – I still have several cards from the SFL card kitย to share with you. Plus given that I recently injured my foot and am having some trouble walking, card making and blogging are ideal activities to help me pass the time! Like I said, no excuse.

The card I made today was a fairly quick one to make. I started by folding myself a card base from my favourite smooth white card. I then used a snippet of the same card and stamped one of the sheep from Clearly Besotted‘s Feeling Sheepish (which I love, but is unfortunately now retired!) onto it using MFT Black Licorice hybrid ink.

Next I took a snippet of green card stock from my snippets folder and stamped on it with the grass stamp from the set. I used Simon Says Stamp Key Lime ink to stamp them. After stamping the grass out five times I die cut them all with the coordinating die.

Returning to my sheep I used my watercolour pencils to colour it in. I stayed fairly simple, using black and grey to colour in the face, ears, legs and feet. I used my old (barely shimmery) Wink of Stella pen as a waterbrush to blend out the watercolour. I did go back in and add a very light amount of pink to the inner ears. I wanted it to be enough to differentiate it from the white of the sheep’s wool, but light enough that it’s not noticeably pink. I also very lightly went over the wool in a circular motion with the grey pencil, blending it out in a circular motion, so as to give some impression of texture to the wool. I then used the coordinating die to cut out the sheep.

With all my elements cut out I started playing around with them on my card base to work out exactly how I wanted to position them. Once I’d got an idea of the layout I wanted I took some of the sentiment stamps from the set and, with the help of my MISTI, laid them out so that I could stamp them just below the images. I used the MFT ink again to stamp them, and stamped a couple of times for a very crisp result.

I then adhered my grass elements into place. I used a ruler to ensure that I got them straight. I considered using foam tape for some dimension, but ended up just using my tape runner for everything.

I have a soft spot for sheep, so I may be a bit biased towards this card! But I really am happy with it. The end result is pretty much exactly how I had imagined it being. The whole process went pretty smoothly from start to finish, and it wasn’t too time-consuming to make. I enjoyed myself with it!

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Addicted to Stamps and More – Make Your Mark

City Crafter – Something Beginning With S (I went with sheep!)

Double “D” Challenges – Black and White with a Pop of Colour

HLS Anything Goes With Dies – Anything Goes

HLS CAS Challenge – Birthday

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday – Anything Goes

Stamplorations CAS Card Challenge – CAS

23 thoughts on “Birthday Sheep

    1. I’m alright, just limping around a bit ๐Ÿ˜‰ I had an encounter with a stone (an embarrassingly small one…) and turned my ankle. We thought it was just sprained but then a week later it was still bad – diagnosis now is a ruptured ligament so I have to wear a brace for three weeks!

      Glad you like the card ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

  1. This is simply adorable! Interesting to use your old Wink of Stella as a watercolor brush. I’ll have to remember that when mine goes mostly dry. Your grass turned out perfect stamped in green on green card stock. I love every inch of your card and I’m so glad you shared it in our challenge at Double D!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m really sorry that this visit is so extremely late…I have obviously been taking too many vacations… but your card really brought a smile to my face!
    Perfect!
    Thanks so much for joining in the CAS challenge at Happy Little Stampers.
    Chrissie

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

