Birthday Balloons

There’s something really fun about bright colours on kraft. It definitely gives a different look than working on a white card base. White can be fun too though!

I started by creating my folding a card base from some kraft card stock. I’m completely out of white card now, but I thought the kraft would be a good alternative.

I then worked on stamping out my sentiment pattern. Initially I was stamping it directly onto the card base with the help of my MISTI, but as I got to my final one I miscounted how far to move the card and stamped it slightly out of alignment. So instead I took a snippet of kraft, which just happened to be exactly the height I needed, and stamped the sentiment along there instead. The sentiment comes from Clearly Besotted‘s Mini Basic Banners 2, which is now retired.

Next I returned to my card base and started working on my balloons. They are from Uniko’s Balloon Bash. I first stamped the small round balloon with Worn Lipstick Distress Oxide. I stamped twice to make sure I got a good impression. I then masked off the balloon and stamped the longer balloon with Peony Purple Versacraft ink.

Next I took the straight string from the balloon stamp set and stamped it starting at the base of each balloon. The string wasn’t quite as long as I would like so I shifted the card and stamped again so as to make it longer. I also added the bow to the pink balloon.

Before adhering my sentiment patterned panel I very lightly went over the edges of the panel with the ink blending tool I use for my Worn Lipstick. I didn’t add any more ink than what was already there as I didn’t want it to be very obvious, I just wanted it to help differentiate it slightly from the card base. I then adhered the panel to the card base using foam tape, and trimmed off the ends that were overhanging the edge of the card.

As a final touch I took my white gel pen and added a mark to each balloon to give the impression of roundness and shine to them.

I’m very happy with this card. It’s simple, but the balloons really pop nicely off the card. I also like the pattern made with the sentiment stamp.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

CASology – Balloons

CAS(E) This Sketch – Sketch/Layout

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday – Anything Goes

12 thoughts on “Birthday Balloons

  1. Gorgeous! Love how those bright, happy colours pop off the craft and the sentiment panel is so cool! Thanks for playing along with CASology this week!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

