Jolly Roger Birthday – SFL Pirates and Mermaids Kit

Here is one of the quicker and more simplistic of the cards I made with the Mermaids and Pirates themed Scrapping For Less June card kit. This particular one definitely went with the pirate side of the theme!  Sometimes simple and easy to put together is exactly what you need, especially if you want to make a quick card. This one would be perfect for a little boy’s birthday.

First I picked out the skull and crossbones patterned paper from Imaginisce’s Parrrty Me Hearty 6×6 paper pad which came in collection three of the card kit. I trimmed it down to be just a little smaller than my card base, which I created from a piece of blue card stock that also came in the set.

Next I took the scroll from the coordinating ephemera. I decided I wanted to add a sentiment, and used some stamps from Lawn Fawn’s Ahoy Matey. I carefully curved them to match the curve of the scroll, then stamped with embossing ink and heat embossed in black.

The final element I chose to add to the card was another piece of ephemera, featuring a boy pirate with a balloon. I used my tape runner to adhere his feet to the scroll to ground him, then put foam tape on the back of both the scroll and the pirate to give a bit of added dimension.

This card was definitely a quick and simple one to put together as it is mostly made from ephemera and patterned paper. I really like how it turned out though, and the sentiment matches it very nicely. I’m pleased I decided to make the extra effort to curve the sentiment to follow the contour of the banner as I think it makes it look like it was meant to be there!

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Craftyhazelnut’s Patterned Paper Challenge – Patterned Paper

Paru’s Cardmaking Challenge – Anything Goes

The Sisterhood of Crafters – Boys to Men

13 thoughts on “Jolly Roger Birthday – SFL Pirates and Mermaids Kit

  1. Yes you were so right to curve the greeting to match the banner and I love how the balloon matches the paper. Thanks for sharing with CHN patterned paper challenge.
    Hugs
    Margaret M DT

    Liked by 2 people

  2. This card is adorable and would be loved by every little boy! Love your choice of colors and papers! Thanks for playing along with our “boys to men” challenge at the Sisterhood of Crafters and hope you will join us again soon.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

