Flowers For You

I wasn’t sure if I was going to make a card today or not. It seems I decided I would in the end. I really do mean in the end, because I left it quite late and now I’m having to do my write-up when I am supposed to be getting ready for bed! I never learn, do I? Anyway, I wanted to play with my newly acquired alcohol markers as I made this card. I enjoyed the process, but I definitely have some learning to do with the colouring!

I started by trimming a snippet of white card to the size of my card front. I then used a pair of scissors with a special blade to cut a jagged edge off the bottom of the panel to leave an interesting reveal to the card base below. I put the resulting panel into my MISTI and used MFT Black Licorice Hybrid Ink, which is safe for use with alcohol markers, to stamp out my flower images. The flowers are from Altenew’s Wild Hibiscus. I stamped the ones on either edge first then masked them off and added the one that is further back.

Once the stamping was completed and the masks were removed I started on the colouring. I only have a 36 set of alcohol markers and they definitely have some colour gaps – greens are well represented, blue are reasonably well though I don’t have any light shades, yellows are okay, but purple, pink, red, orange… not so much! I started out with greens for the leaf and stems as I knew I had a good selection for those. I used three shades of green and worked from lightest to darkest and back again in order to get a good blend.

I then decided to go for blue for the flowers. I coloured the tallest flower first, laying down a base of my lightest colour all over the flower, then adding the darker shades with flicking motions. I went back and forth through all three shades until I was happy with the blend and the overall look of the flower. Moving on to my next flower, the one on the right, I used the same lightest blue but swapped my darker colours for blue greens. This time I applied my base layer only on the tip of the flower and the centre, leaving a band in the middle of each petal. I then worked on flicking the other shades over, building up my colour as I went. With the third flower I again swapped for slightly different blue shades, and with that one I only used the flicking motions and didn’t put a base layer at all. I think the second technique worked the best, but it was good to experiment!

After I’d finished colouring the flowers I decided I wanted to add a butterfly. I was a bit nervous about adding to the image as I’d already spent a fair amount of time working on it… I picked out one of the butterflies from the stamp set and, with the help of my MISTI, carefully lined it up so it would appear to be sitting on one of the flowers without overlapping it. I then took my violet and blue violet pens (I only have one of each, and they don’t blend with each other…) and used them to colour the butterfly. I cheated a little and used some greys to add shading to the top wings of the butterfly.

The final element on my focal panel was the sentiment. I wanted something scripty but simple, and after looking through my stamps found this one from The Greeting Farm’s Kitty Stacks. I again used my MISTI and MFT ink for stamping.

With the panel completed I started on assembling the card. I realised the panel was a bit shorter than I’d originally planned, so I snipped a couple of strips of white card from the snippet I’d cut off earlier, and used those as decorative strips to add interest and length to the card. I used foam tape to adhere all my elements in place, and the card was complete.

I really did have fun playing with my alcohol markers. I definitely prefer the look I got with the first two flowers over the third one, but that’s part of the point of playing – to work out which way I like most! Admittedly playing around on what will become a finished card might not be the best idea, but I like the look of the card overall anyway, and I may as well make use of my play pieces!

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Butterfly Challenge – Butterflies and Jagged Edge and/or Kiwi (I aimed for kiwi with the green parts of my colouring!)

Mod Squad – The Wing’s The Thing

Moving Along With The Times – Things That Fly

MFT Sketch Challenge – Sketch/Layout (I flipped it around.)

Pixie’s Snippets Playground – Snippets

The Cat’s Pajamas – How Does Your Garden Grow?

Uniko Challenge – Flowers

Watercooler Wednesday – Anything Feminine Goes

30 thoughts on “Flowers For You

  1. Your colouring is perfect and even with just a few pens your choice of colour here is lovely. Your jagged edge element is a great idea too. Thank you for fluttering into the butterfly garden. Hugs Mrs A.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Charlotte, love the process you went through in creating this striking card. Those alcohol marker really are beautifully bright and blend nicely. Love the way you’ve cut away the bottom of the image panel to reveal the underneath green to compliment the stripes of green at the top. Great idea. Thanks so much for joining our Watercooler Wednesday Challenge this week.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you very much πŸ™‚ These markers are actually a brand called Yosoo, not Copics. I wanted to see if I would enjoy working with alcohol markers brfore investing in Copics. I expect I will end up getting some though!

      Like

  3. Hi,
    what a very beautiful card, and the colours on those gorgeous flowers is so vibrant.
    So wonderful that you have used some snippets too, and your jagged edge for the butterfly challenge also.
    Thank you for joining the MAWTT Challenge.
    Lots of crafty love. Jenny L. DT

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow Charlotte! What a beautiful card and your colouring is just perfect. If that’s a first try then you’re doing brilliantly! And super use of snippets of course.

    Hugs

    Di xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Di! I did try them a little before making this, but this is the first actual card I’ve used them on. I think it helps that I’ve watched a lot of YouTube videos that have used alcohol markers, so I’ve picked things up along the way πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. This image works for perfectly for all your challenges. I would love to have these beauties in my garden. Thanks so much for joining us at TCPTuesday Challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Beautiful card and design. Loving the royal blue with the green, such a striking colour combination which works so well with the florals you chose to use. Thanks so much for sharing and joining in on the Uniko challenge. Hugs Bev x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

