Inlaid Sheep Scene

I enjoy making scene cards. Often when I make them they have a fair bit of dimension to them, as the different layers are popped up on top of each other. Today I took a different approach. Despite the appearance of dimension this card is completely flat, all thanks to the inlay die cutting technique.

I started with a piece of light blue card stock to be my sky. I then die cut it with the Clearly Besotted Tree Landscape Die (which is retired) and set aside the lower portion. I then took my smallest Sizzix circle die and cut that first from the blue card and then from a snippet of yellow. I placed the yellow circle into the gap left in the blue and used some tape to hold it in place on the back.

Next I created the clouds. For a bit of added interest I used Lawn Fawn’s Simple Puffy Cloud Frames. I used the smallest clouds and created the holes in the sky/sun panel, then filled them back in with cloud frames cut from white shimmer card and the centres from regular white card.

With the sky completed I moved on to my hills. I took a snippet of dark green card and, after making sure it would properly line up, cut that with the same Tree Landscape Die. I then slotted that into the sky portion and again taped it on the back.Β The hill in the foreground is made with a snippet of lighter green card cut to fit into the bottom of the dark green using a Pink & Main Scallop Waves Dies.

Taking the die for the front facing sheep from Clearly Besotted’s Feeling Sheepish (I have the older edition) I worked out where I wanted to add it on my scene, then cut a hole in the hills. I then stamped the sheep onto a piece of white card and used my Yosoo alcohol markers to colour it in. Once it was coloured I die cut the sheep and slipped it into place on my panel.

I had originally planned to finish the scene building there but I felt it was looking a bit plain. Looking back at the sheep stamp set I decided to add the sheep that looks as though it is peeking over a wall.

Firstly I created the wall. I just used my paper trimmer to take a couple of centimetres off the bottom of the panel, then cut a snippet of white card to fill that space. I went over the white card with the chisel tip of my lightest E marker, then used the chisel of a R marker (light mahogany) to create brick shapes. I went back in with some darker Es to add shading to the mortar, and went over the bricks themselves with the same R to add some depth and dimension to them too. Then I taped the wall into place.

For the two sheep I used the same colours I had used on my original sheep – yellow greys for the skin and wool, and cool greys for the hooves. As the sun on my scene is directly above one of the sheep I made sure to adjust my shading appropriately so that each sheep looked as though the sunlight was hitting them correctly. I used the coordinating die to cut out each image, the spaces in the scene for them, and then taped them into place.

The final element to add was the sentiment. This again comes from the Feeling Sheepish stamp set. I selectively masked the sentiment and stamped it stacked to fit onto the large area of the back hill. I heat embossed it in white.

Finally I adhered my scene to a white side-fold card base using double sided tape.

This card was not a quick one to make. There were a lot of elements to create, and a lot of fiddling around getting things put together. I’ve done inlaid die cutting before but not to anywhere near this extent. It was fun and it was definitely a learning experience. I expect if I do it again the process will be a smoother one. I am very pleased with how it turned out despite the occasional hiccups along the way.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

HLS Anything Goes With Dies – Anything Goes

MFT Camp Create Day 1 – Inlaid Made Easy

Pixie’s Snippets Playground – Snippets

Seize The Birthday – Birthday and Anything Goes

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday – Add A Sentiment

19 thoughts on “Inlaid Sheep Scene

  1. Gorgeous coloring! Love this to bits! So glad that you join the fun over Simon Says Stamp Wednesday β€œAdd a Sentiment” Challenge! Awesome details and design! Super work!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh Charlotte – this is totally stunning!! A gorgeous scene and I loved reading about all the steps. And the final touch of the coloured brick wall is a perfect finish to an already brilliant piece of work. You certainly ought to be well pleased – I always find that inlaying means you have to envisage the end result and sort of plot backwards from there to your starting point. Not easy – but you really cracked it!

    Hugs

    Di xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love inlaid work, too, Charlotte, because it feels like putting together a jigsaw puzzle. You created a huge project for yourself and I enjoyed reading about the steps. It was all worth it because your snippet card could not be more interesting or more adorable!! Hugs, Darnell

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

