Mermaid For Each Other – SFL Pirates and Mermaids Kit

Can you believe that I still haven’t finished sharing all the cards I made with the June Scrapping For Less card kit?! I’ve shared nine so far, and still have four more to share after this one. I should probably get on with sharing them all… I even still have enough bits of the kit left that I could probably make a few more cards. I really did enjoy this kit!

This is actually one of the first cards I made with the kit. It might even have been the very first one, but it’s been so long now I can’t say for sure! For my initial inspiration I wanted to use the sketches suggested with the card kit, and for this card I used sketch 3 which is from Sunday Sketch and Stamp.

I then decided to match it up with collection one from the kit. Actually, I randomly matched up each kit with one of the sketches to be my starting point, and this is the sketch that I ended up having match with collection one. Collection one included the Under The Sea papers from Doodlebug Design, and I used those as my starting point.

I decided to cut myself a circle of the wave patterned paper to be my main panel. I used two circle dies at the same time so that I could also make myself a frame using the pattern on the reverse side of the paper. I also picked out a fairly plain patterned paper to be my side panel, making sure it would coordinate well with the other papers I was using. Of course any of the papers would have coordinated fairly well, as they’re all designed to go together!

I then pulled out the Lawn Fawn Mermaid For You stamp set that came with the kit. I stamped the various seaweed images using all of the inks from the Simon Says Stamp Fresh Fruit ink cube set, then fussy cut them. Fussy cutting them was quite time-consuming…!

I stamped out the merman and one of the mermaids from the Lawn Fawn stamp set, and added the pearl tiara to the mermaid. I then coloured them in with (if I recall correctly!) my pastel pencils. If I’d thought I would have left my stamps in place on my MISTI so that I could restamp them after colouring, as the pastels dull the black lines a bit. Once the colouring was done I fussy cut the characters too.

I used my tape runner to adhere my patterned papers into place, then some glue pen to add the sea weed and the mermaids. Finally I stamped a sentiment in black ink onto the top of my orange patterned paper panel.

I do like how this card ended up. I remember that it actually took me quite a while to end up with a design for this. I knew I wanted to use the sketch with collection one, but I originally wanted to use only things from the collection, which would have meant not including the stamp set. And trying to work out a card to meet all those requirements was just not going well! It all went a lot more smoothly once I allowed myself to bring in the stamps too!

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Addicted to Stamps and More – Anything Goes

Craftyhazelnut’s Patterned Paper Challenge – Patterned Paper

HLS Anything Goes With Dies Challenge – Anything Goes With Dies

Mod Squad – Fantasy Fun

The Sisterhood of Crafters – Anything Goes

18 thoughts on “Mermaid For Each Other – SFL Pirates and Mermaids Kit

  1. Adorable!! Thanks so much for joining us at The Sisterhood’s ‘Anything Goes’ challenge and please come back again soon!
    Darlene
    one of the ‘Sistahs’
    The Sisterhood of Crafters
    DAR’S CRAFTY CREATIONS Please come for a visit!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is just adorable, and a wonderful collection of papers, coloring and die cuts. Sweet little images and fun sentiment. Thanks for linking up and playing with us at Happy Little Stampers August Anything Goes With Dies Challenge. Please come again!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

