Wishing Flowers (With Video) – CIC 421

It’s time for another Cupcake Inspirations Challenge! This week we have a colour palette to use – orange, teal and white. I’ll be honest, I was at a bit of a loss for ideas initially. But after some more thinking I came up with this idea. I actually mulled over the idea for several days. I had a couple of different thoughts of how to do it. One of them would have involved using Nuvo Mousse, which I don’t have but would like to play with. I decided to stick with products I have though, rather than buying something new. In the end I was very excited to try out this colour scheme.

If you are also inspired by this week’s prompt then make sure you join in as we are sponsored by Inspired By Stamping and one lucky, randomly chosen winner will receive a $15 gift certificate!

I started my card by stamping the larger flower stamp from Uniko’s Pure Florals: Cosmos stamp set onto a snippet of vellum and heat embossing it with white embossing powder. I then flipped the snippet over to start colouring on the back. I used my Yosoo alcohol markers to colour the flower. The set I have has one orange so I used that for most of the colouring, but also bought in a red and a yellow to help add shadows and highlights. The markers don’t really blend on vellum so there was a little bit of a learning curve to get the colour looking how I wanted it. For the stems of the flower I wanted to get the teal colour from the prompt, so I used a blue-green marker. As the stems are so narrow I didn’t bother trying to add any shading.

Once the colouring was complete I backed the vellum with some double sided tape and then fussy cut it out. I used my craft knife to get the area between the stems, but accidentally removed some of the white embossing in the process. Luckily that mistake is not too obvious!

Taking my white, top fold card base I worked out where I wanted to position my flowers, then used that as a guide to add my sentiment. The sentiment comes from the same Uniko stamp set and I stamped it with Altenew Lagoon ink which nicely matched the flower stems. I then removed the backing paper from the double sided tape on my flowers and pressed them into place on the front of the card.

I wanted to add a little something to the inside too, so I took the long sentiment from the stamp set (mine has a very slight defect on the M, but nothing major) and stamped it with the same Lagoon ink. I then added the individual flower just above the sentiment, stamping it with Spiced Marmalade Distress Ink to bring in more of the orange.

I had fun playing with this technique. I think it’s sometimes called a stained glass technique? In any case I did enjoy it, and though the colouring on the flowers isn’t perfect I feel it worked well. I really like how CAS the card is, as I feel it really helps those colours pop and lets the flowers to centre stage. I definitely enjoyed the chance to play with some colours that I perhaps wouldn’t have put together myself.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Addicted to Stamps and More – Make Your Mark

Cupcake Inspirations – Colour Palette: Orange, Teal and White

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday – Anything Goes

STAMPlorations Summer CAS Card Challenge – CAS

STAMPlorations Summer Theme and Sketch Challenge – Anything Goes

The Sisterhood of Crafters – Anything Goes

Watercooler Wednesday – Anything Goes

 

Check out what the rest of the Cupcake Inspiration DT made:

Charlotte (that’s me!)

Christine

Debbie

EK

Kim

Wendy

17 thoughts on “Wishing Flowers (With Video) – CIC 421

  1. What a lovely clean and simple creation! Those vellum flowers are gorgeous. The white heat embossing makes such a pretty frame for the colours inside. Love the way you’ve used the colours. Great card. Thanks so much for joining our Watercooler Wednesday Challenge this week.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great video and great card. Love the CAS elements of it and the beautifully coloured flowers. Great use of the colour throwdown too. Thanks for sharing your card creation and joining us this week for the Watercooler Wednesday “Anything Goes” challenge.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

