Snippet Balloons

I’m very excited to be Guest Designing for Pixie’s Snippets Playground this week! If you’re not familiar with the Playground you should definitely check it out. Di sets a fortnightly challenge to make a card that uses up snippets – a great challenge for me, because I seem to have a never ending supply of leftover odds and ends of papers. There are prizes for the challenge, too!

For this card I decided I would use up some snippets of vellum. I wanted to make a fun birthday card with them, and had the idea of making balloons!

I started with some stamping. I first put my sidefold white card base into my MISTI, and then took my Uniko Balloon Bash stamps. After looking at the colours of vellum snippets I had, and the inks I had available, I decided to use Frayed Leaf and Frosty Pink Altenew inks which are both from the Floral Ink Cube set. I used the green for the round balloons and the pink for the more oval balloons. I then took the straight string stamp from the balloon stamp set and stamped them with MFT Black Licorice Hybrid Ink. I used second generation stamping to get a lighter impression.

Then I moved on to my snippets! I had a piece of green vellum and a piece of pink. I backed the pieces with double-sided tape so that they would be easy to adhere after cutting. I then took two sizes of Sizzix Circle DiesΒ and both colours of vellum with them. Once I had several cut out I played around with how I wanted to position them on the card until I was happy with the layout. I removed the backing paper from the balloons and adhered them into place, then trimmed off the overhanging pieces and even used some of those snippets to give the impression of even more balloons on the card! I then again added the strings to the balloons. One of them I forgot to make second generation… whoops!

The final thing I wanted to add was a sentiment. I pulled out the Everyday Sentiments set from Happy Little Stampers (which I think is required) and used my MISTI to stamp Happy Birthday directly onto the card base. I somehow managed to get the “birthday” pretty wonky though, so I dug out a snippet of green pearlised card, which coordinated nicely with the green of the balloons, and stamped the birthday onto that instead. I trimmed it down and adhered it over my wonky stamping with some foam tape.

I’m so happy with the result of this card! The colours of the ink worked really well with the vellum, and I love the depth and dimension that the layering gave. It would have been nice to have an actual balloon die to use rather than the circle die, but I’m trying to use what I have available rather than spending money to buy new things all the time! Actually, full disclosure – I have recently ordered a balloon die, but I paid for it with a gift card that I won, so that’s allowed, right?!

Thanks Di for letting me play in the Playground this week! And hello and thank you to all of you who are dropping in to visit me from there!!

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:
HLS Anything Goes With Dies – Anything Goes With Dies

Pixie’s Snippets Playground – Use Snippets

Simon Says Stamp Monday – Stamp It

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday – Stamp It

Watercooler Wednesday – Anything Feminine Goes

 

P.S., you can now follow me on Instagram where you can get sneaky peeks at what I’m working on, and maybe even the occasional cat picture! And of course you can still find me on Facebook and YouTube!

22 thoughts on “Snippet Balloons

  1. Wow, Charlotte! What a great use for your vellum snippets. I must take note since I seem to be “drowning” in snippets myself. The dangers of paper-crafting. Love the colours you’ve chosen for those wonderful balloons. The lines (strings) for the balloons also add an appearance of texture to your card. Great work. Thanks so much for joining our Watercooler Wednesday Challenge this week.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dearest girl, thank you so much for being the Snippets Guest Designer with this fabulous card! I love it – vellum works so well……………………in the hands of one with vision!

    Love, Di xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

