Blue and Gold Christmas – MM 257

It’s a new week and that means is the start of a new Merry Monday challenge! This week Sue is hosting and she’s asked us to create a card with a tag on it, with texture, bling and die cuts involved! This was a challenge for me as I usually lean towards clean and simple designs, and it took me a while to work out what to do. In the end I just decided to start making and see what I ended up with!

I began by grabbing a tag from my stash. This came in one of the Simon Says Stamp card kits earlier in the year. It’s quite a large tag, which ensured it would be the focal point on my card.

Next I started digging through my box of ribbons to find something suitable. The gold, blue and white ribbon really jumped out at me as being great for a Christmas theme, so I decided to use that as the inspiration point for the rest of my card. I spent quite a while fiddling with the best way to have the ribbon through the tag, and eventually decided to bring in a piece of narrower, dark blue ribbon to tie a bow around the wider ribbon.

I then looked through my patterned papers for something to use to cover the background of my card. As the tag is almost cream in colour it did not look right against the white card base. I found the blue Christmas tree patterned paper and felt it fit my colour sceme well, so I trimmed it down to the size of my card base.

At this point I felt that the body of the tag was a bit plain. Remembering the texture part of the prompt I decided to run it through an embossing folder. I don’t have many embossing folders and there was really only one that seemed suitable to use, which was the lattice from Sizzix’s Butterfly Lattice Set. After embossing the tag I rethreaded and tied the ribbons through it.

For the die cut element I found a sentiment die which I got free with a magazine last year. I cut it from some white glitter card stock, then adhered a piece of dark blue card behind it and trimmed around so that it all looked like one piece. I added some double-sided adhesive to the back of the circle panel and created a ‘nest’ of gold thread around it. I added another layer of double sided tape to help hold it properly in place, then adhered it to the tag. As the centre of the circle seemed a little bare I also attached the little holly and berries that the die had cut out.

I adhered the tag to my card base with foam tape. The bulk of the ribbon made it quite difficult to adhere. I ended up adding three layers of foam tape at the top corner, reducing the amount of tape as I went along the tag so that the opposite corner only had the one layer. This added a bit more interesting dimension to the card whilst also allowing it to adhere properly despite the bulk of the ribbon. I also added some double-sided tape to hold the loose ends of the wider ribbon in position.

As I said, I found this prompt quite challenging as it’s not the sort of thing I would usually make. I do like trying to challenge myself though! It was fun coming up with ways to meet the prompt, and I liked being able to make use of things in my stash that I don’t normally use. I am even quite happy with how the card turned out! Although I don’t think it would go through the post very well due to the bulkiness of it, so I’m not sure who I’ll end up giving it to… The majority of the Christmas cards I give go to family and friends back in England!

If you’re feeling inspired to make a Christmas card with a tag I hope you’ll come along and play in the Merry Monday challenge!

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Christmas Cards All Year ‘Round – Use Leaves

Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge – Anything Christmas

Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge Extra – Anything Christmas

Craftyhazelnut’s Patterned Paper Challenge – Use Patterned Paper

HLS Christmas Challenge – Anything Goes and Optional: Sparkle

Merry Monday – Add a tag with bling, texture and dies cuts

Moving Along With The Times – Sentiment as the Focal Point

TCP Tuesday – Fall or Winter Holiday

…………………………………………………………

Check out what the rest of the DT made:

Charlotte (that’s me!)

Colleen

Deanne

Debbie

Felicita

JoAnn

Kelly

Kim

Kimberly

Linda S

Linda W

Lori

Marcia

Nina

Sue

28 thoughts on “Blue and Gold Christmas – MM 257

  1. Hello… Thanks for sharing your lovely card with Moving Along with the Times Challenge Blog; it fits perfectly with our ‘Sentiment’ challenge theme. Hope you can join us again very soon.
    Diane Louise (DT member) xx

    Like

  2. Lovely! Love the color combo! Thanks so much for participating in our CHRISTMAS CARDS ALL YEAR ‘ROUND challenge. Hope you participate in our next challenge!! Have a happy crafty day!!! *If this comment is late I apologize! I’m having major issues lately trying to leave comments due to the stupid ROBOT silliness!!!
    Deanne at A Little Bit O’ Paper

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

