Birthday Butterflies

I definitely seem to have been on a bit of a CAS kick these past few days! I generally do lean towards CAS, but I like to play with more intricate designs at times too – detailed scenes, for example. But there’s something very rewarding about managing to make a card that looks good and still maintains a beautiful amount of white space. It’s fun!

I started by placing the Flight of Butterflies Dinky Stencil, by That’s Crafty!, onto my white card base. I used some post-it tape to hold it in place. I ink blended a layer of Spun Sugar Distress ink across the whole stencil. I then added Milled Lavender Distress ink, concentrating it more towards the centre of each butterfly, followed by Seedless Preserves kept even more centrally. Finally I went back over the tips of the butterflies wings with the Spun Sugar, and made sure everything was properly blended.

Having finished my ink blending I removed the stencil. I then used pencils in similar colours to help add subtle detail and definition to the butterflies. I added grey along the bodies, then used a variety of purple and pink shades to define the wings a bit more.

I created my sentiment panel by heat embossing a sentiment from the Creative Expressions John Lockwood Lily of the Valley stamp set in white onto a snippet of black. I trimmed the snippet down and adhered it across my card. As a final embellishment I added three self-adhesive pearls to the card.

I’ve had this stencil for several months now, but this is actually the first time I’d used it. I think I had been concerned that the butterflies would look a bit flat and boring. Well, I managed to avoid that with the multi tone ink blending and the added pencil detail! I’m really pleased with how they turned out – so pretty! When I was finding a link for the stencil I noticed that there is a flight of bats one too. I kind of want it…!

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Addicted to Stamps and More – CAS

 

Butterfly Challenge – Butterflies and Vertical and/or Damson

Color Throwdown – Colour Palette

Lil Patch of Crafty Friends – Anything Goes

MFT Sketch Challenge – Sketch/Layout

10 thoughts on “Birthday Butterflies

  1. I’m so pleased you entered this card into my challenge. It’s beautiful. I so impressed with all your detailing to get the butterflies just right. This is a super CAS card. Thank you for fluttering along . Hugs Mrs A.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

