Christmas Angel Tag – IWD Nov 6 – Nov 19

I’m very happy to announce that I am joining another Design Team! I have the honour of joining the Incy Wincy Designs team, and for my first challenge with them we are making anything that isn’t a card. Given that I almost exclusively create cards, this one was definitely a challenge for me! Our sponsor is Rick St Dennis who will be providing one lucky winner with 2 images of this choice, and also generously provided sponsor images for the DT to play with.

I started by printing Angel With A Cloud onto some alcohol marker friendly paper. I then coloured the image using my alcohol markers. I mostly used the new Spectrum Noir Illustrator Markers that I got for my birthday, but I did also bring in some of my Yosoo markers when I needed colours that I didn’t have in the SN markers. For example I used a couple of my Yosoo markers for the blue-green edging on the angel’s dress. Once I was done with all the colouring I fussy cut the image.

Initially I was planning on putting the image onto an off-white tag, but it didn’t look quite right against the white of the angel image. I instead swapped to a kraft tag. It took me a while to decide what else to add to my tag. Whilst digging through my ribbon stash I found the interesting golden piece and decided to use that.

Before attaching it I pulled out a sentiment which I stamped in MFT Black Licorice Hybrid ink onto the bottom of my tag. This particular sentiment is from Pink and Main‘s Joyful Tidings stamp set, which is retired, but any sentiment could work here.

Having done the stamping I added my gold ribbon. I wrapped it around the card base and used both double-sided tape and some Glossy Accents to adhere it securely in place. I then popped up the angel with foam squares, making sure not to put any where it would overlap the ribbon, and added that to the card base too. At this point I decided to add some Wink of Stella to the stars, halo, and the edging on the angel’s robe.

The final touch was adding some ribbon to the top of the tag. I picked out a blue which coordinated well with the angel, even if it wasn’t a perfect match. I threaded it through the hole, completing the tag.

Whilst tag making might be out of my comfort zone, at least based on my usual fare, I did have fun making this. I’m rather pleased with the result too, even if I did have a couple of struggles along the way. I definitely think that switching to the kraft tag instead of the cream was the right choice.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Addicted to Stamps and More – Anything Goes

CAS-ual Fridays – Anything But A Card

Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge – Anything Christmas

Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge Extra – Anything Christmas

HLS CAS Challenge – Christmas

HLS Christmas Challenge – Anything Christmas Goes

Incy Wincy Designs – Not A Card

SheepSki Designs – Show Us Your Wings

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday – Christmas Gift Tag

Sweet Stampin’ – Fairies and Fantasy

…………………………………………………………

Check out what the rest of the DT made:

Charlotte (that’s me!)

Chris

Francesca

Helen

Heather

Karen

Maria Giselle

Marlene

Nikki

Suze

8 thoughts on “Christmas Angel Tag – IWD Nov 6 – Nov 19

Leave a Reply

