Wish Upon A Starfish – SFL Pirates and Mermaids Kit

I still haven’t shared very many of the cards that I made with the  Scrapping For Less June card kit, which had a Mermaids and Pirates theme. I decided it’s about time I do something about that, so I’ll be sharing at least a few more of them over the next couple of days. This particular card is one of the later ones I made, when I was getting down to scraps of the supplies to try to use up.

My starting point was the really pretty patterned paper that is from Echo Park’s Let’s Be Mermaids, which came in Collection Two of the card kit. This patterned paper is called Catch the Wave and I love all the fun detail in it. As I looked for other elements to use with it I spotted the little “Wish Upon A Starfish” tag from a sheet of cut-aparts in the paper selection from Imaginisce’s Parrrty Me Hearty, which came in Collection Three. I decided I had to use it for my sentiment.

With the sentiment in mind I took the Lawn Fawn So Jelly stamp set which came with the kit and stamped out the little starfish with MFT Black Licorice Hybrid Ink onto a snippet of paper. I coloured it with my watercolour pencils, blending out the colour with a Wink of Stella pen that I’ve turned into a waterbrush. I then fussy cut the starfish.

For completing my scene I took a selection of sea weed that I had leftover from another card I’d made. They were created using stamps from Lawn Fawn’s Mermaid For You with inks from Simon Says Stamp’s Fresh Fruit Ink Cube set then fussy cut out.

I used tape runner to adhere my pattern paper panel to an off-white card base. For the starfish and the sea weed I used my glue pen. Then I added the tag with the sentiment using foam tape for some added dimension and interest.

This card is fairly simple, but I think it suits it. The wave patterned paper adds a lot to the overall look of the card, and having just the starfish rather than any supporting characters really helps to highlight it and the accompanying sentiment. I am happy with how it all came together.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Cupcake Inspirations – Beachy

Craftyhazelnut’s Patterned Paper Challenge – Patterned Paper

Lawn Fawnatics – Colour Inspiration Board (I was inspired by the starfish, and also tried to pull in some of the colours – the pink and orange I tried to represent in the sea weed, and the blues in the patterned paper.)

Muse – Anything Goes


12 thoughts on “Wish Upon A Starfish – SFL Pirates and Mermaids Kit

  1. Love this card – the sea theme is put together so perfect!! Thanks so much for joining us this time at the Craftyhazelnut’s Patterned Paper challenge, Elizabeth (DT)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.