Watercooler Wednesday Challenge #138 – Marsha’s All About Christmas Challenge

This week’s Watercooler Wednesday Challenge is All About Christmas. I thought this would be the perfect time to do my 3 cards 1 stamp set video that I’d been considering, using the STAMPlorations Yuletide Deer stamps that I recently bought. I really like this stamp set and thought it would be fun to explore a few different ways of using it.

I tried to do something a bit different with each of the cards. I managed all of the images in the stamp set, though I didn’t use all three sentiments as I used one twice. They could be used fairly interchangeably though, depending on who you’re making the card for.

Card 1 – Colourful Christmas Cheer

I stamped the side facing deer and one of the sentiments with MFT Black Licorice Ink directly onto my cardbase. I then used Yosoo alcohol markers to colour the deer. I kept the colour simple for a graphic look, but did add some shading below the deer’s chin.

Challenges:

Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge Extra – Anything Christmas

STAMPlorations Never-Ending Anything Goes Challenge – Anything Goes with STAMPlorations

Card 2 – Shimmery Christmas

I stamped and heat embossed the fractal looking deer with Wow Cloud 9 Glitter Embossing powder, and stamped a sentiment with MFT Black Licorice Ink, onto the rough side of a piece of watercolour paper. I then painted areas of the deer at random with the Gansai Tambi Pearl Colours, using Pearl Pink, Pearl Scarlet Red, and Pearl May Green. I trimmed a narrow piece of deep pink mirror card and used my glue pen to adhere the strip to my card base, then added the watercolour panel to the card base using my tape runner.

Challenges:

Christmas Card Throwdown – Colour Scheme: Pink, Red and Green

HLS Christmas Challenge – Anything Goes and Optional: Sparkle

HLS Watercolour Challenge – Anything Goes

Card 3 – Tone-On-Tone Deer

I went with a monochrome look for the third card. I stamped the antlers randomly over a piece of tan card stock using Simon Says Stamp Barely Beige ink for a tone-on-tone look. I then cut a circle of dark brown cards and stamped the third deer image into the centre of it using MFT Black Licorice Ink. I then used the same black ink to stamp my sentiment, which I masked in order to stamp it all on one line rather than stacked. I trimmed the tan panel so that it would have a slight border when added to the card base, then adhered it in place with my tape runner. I used foam tape to add my circle with the deer to give some dimension, then went over the deer with Anita’s 3D Clear Gloss to give it a raised, glossy finish.

Challenges:

Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge – Anything Christmas and Optional: For A Male

Rudolph Days – Anything Christmas

Sasayaki Glitter – Brown

Watercooler Wednesday – All About Christmas

Work It Wednesday – Favourite Stamps (This set is definitely a new favourite!)

……….

I had a lot of fun playing with this stamp set and making these cards. I’m glad I was able to use all of the stamps. Well actually I didn’t use one of the sentiments because I used the same one twice, but I used all the images. I liked that I was able to use different techniques with each card to get a different look for all of them. And doing this gave me a couple more ideas of what I could do with this set!

I really hope you were inspired to play with this stamp set. It’s very versatile, clearly great for Christmas cards, and could work brilliantly for non-Christmas cards too. With the non-traditional colours I used I think that all these cards could, with a change of sentiment, work for other occasions.

Love,

Lady Joyful

PS, did you know I’m having a giveaway? For the full details, and to enter, click here!

…………………………………………………………

Check out what the rest of the DT made:

Charlotte (that’s me!)

Gail

Heidi

Judy

Kath

Libby

Marsha

Penny


24 thoughts on “Watercooler Wednesday Challenge #138 – Marsha’s All About Christmas Challenge

  1. Hi Charlotte, great use of the three stamps from that Yuletide Deer set. I love the way you’ve kept them all simple yet made each one special in its own way. I have to say that the Shimmery Christmas one is especially stunning.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Charlotte so nice to have you on the Design Team this week. Love your entry and the other two cards you’ve created with the Yuletide Deer set. The diversity of the stamps and the techniques just shows you don’t have to have lots of stamps, you just need to use them. Beautifully done. Although I’m particularly partial to the tone on tone creation for our challenge at the Watercooler, I also really like the CAS yet decorative style of the other two cards. Thanks so much for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Very beautiful cards! Love the fact that they are a bit unusual!
    Thanks for playing with us at CraftyHazelnut’s Christmas Challenge Extra for September!
    Monica – DT

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.