Witchy Frog

I’ve been working on a few Halloween cards lately, using the Simon Says Stamp Halloween Card Kit. If you’re following my Instagram you’ll have seen a sneak peek of some of them. The cards I used there have all been on the dark side – black or kraft cards bases. Today I decided to do something a bit different, with a lot of white space!

I started by printing out the Witch Frog digi stamp from Sasayaki Glitter. I then took him to work with me to colour on my break.

I coloured the pumpkin first, using my Yosoo alcohol markers. When I first got these markers (back in July) I thought I wouldn’t be able to use my orange, because I only had one, and I didn’t think any of the other colours would work for adding shade to it. As you can see, I was wrong! I used light mahogony and a mid-tone brown to add the shading, and it works pretty well! I used the same orange combination for the band and patch on the hat.

Next I coloured the frog. I used a combination of yellow greens, and shaded with a heavy cast shadow from the hat. Once I’d coloured everything else I decided to go back and stipple on some dots to add some interest to the frog’s skin.

For the hat I used cool greys. The cool greys I have are quite dark, and I went over it all twice to darken it up even more.  I used yellow greys to add the shading on the eyes, as well as the shadow below the image. I then used yellows for the buckly on the hat.

I used a sentiment from the Simon Says Stamp Creepy Cute stamp set and stamped it above my image, using MFT Black Licorice Hybrid Ink.

After a lot of deliberation I decided to leave the card with just the image and sentiment. I had considered adding some patterned paper or some kind of inking down either side, but decided against it. I did end up adding a little embellishment with Nuvo Glow Drops in Apple Sour. It was actually my first time using Nuvo Drops! I like the result, though I need to practice forming them.

I’m really pleased with how this card turned out. The image is so cute, the sentiment goes with it fairly well, and I do like the scattering of drops across it. I didn’t get a picture of the glow. Actually, when I tested the glow I found they weren’t glowing very much… But that might be because my bottle was stored in the dark, so it hadn’t been able to absorb much light. All the pictures/videos I’ve seen of these drops show them glowing a lot!

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Addicted to CAS – Pumpkins

City Crafter Challenge Blog – Pumpkins

Incy Wincy Designs – Dress Up

Inkspirational – One Layer Card (edit – where it was a top pick!)

Lil Patch of Crafty Friends – Anything Goes

Little Miss Muffet – Anything Goes

Sasayaki Glitter – Orange

Sasayaki Glitter Progressive Challenge – Use “Witch Frog” stamp

STAMPlorations CAS Card Challenge – Anything CAS and Optional: Orange

Uniko Challenge – Autumn and Optional: Halloween


28 thoughts on “Witchy Frog

  1. This is such a fabulous card! You’ve done an amazing job coloring and shading these images with your markers and I love your CAS design! So happy you could join in the fun this week at ATCAS!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lucky me to see yet your amazing creativity in action once again! Your witchy frog, sitting atop his jack o’lantern, is fantastic! WOWed by your colouring; your highlighting/shadows are perfect! Thank you so much for sharing your spook-tacular card in the Inkspirational One Layer, STAMPlorations Anything CAS Goes and Uniko Autumn/Fall/Halloween galleries!
    ~carol

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Awesome Halloween card, love this cute frog wearing the witches hat. Beautifully coloured and wonderfully CAS too 🙂 Thank you for joining in on the Uniko Challenge and my apologies for my late commenting. Hugs Bev x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.