Christmas Gnome – CIC 434

Hello everyone and happy Sunday! It’s time for another Cupcake Inspiration Challenge and this week we have a pretty wintery colour palette to play with. We are sponsored this week by Craftin Desert Divas, who are generously providing 2 digis to a randomly chosen winner. They also kindly gave the DT the fun Winter Gnomeo image to play with for creating our cards. I also recently used the image as a craft activity for the boys I look after – they loved it!

I started by sizing the digi-stamp in a word document before printing it out. I usually print out a whole sheet of images at a time for the sake of efficiency, and did the same on this occasion. I guess I played around with the image more than I realised though as I later discovered that I had it mirrored! I don’t remember doing that intentionally, but I may well have done.

Once the image was printed I started colouring it with my alcohol markers. I used Spectrum Noir Illustrator markers for the skin tones, and bought in Yosoo markers for the shading on the white, as well as the two darker shades for the blue. The lightest blue is an SN marker. I also used the Yosoo markers for his shoes. Having completed the colouring I fussy cut him and set him aside.

It took me a while to decide what I wanted to do for the rest of the card. I eventually decided to use a card base made of white glitter card for some added interest. I then coloured a piece of white ribbon with the lightest blue marker I’d used on the gnome’s outfit in order to make sure it coordinated. I assessed how I wanted the gnome and ribbon positioned, then stamped a sentiment from Lawn Fawn’s Merry Messages just below where the gnome would be using MFT Black Licorice Hybrid Ink.

I used double-sided tape to adhere the coloured ribbon to the side of the card, wrapping the ends over inside. I then added some black and white twine which I wrapped around and tied in a bow over the ribbon. I used more double-sided tape to adhere the gnome into place, then used Glossy Accents to adhere a little silver and white pompom to the end of his hat, completing the card.

I’m very happy with how this card came together, particularly the colouring on the gnome. I definitely consider myself to still be a learner, but I think I managed the shading pretty well, particularly on his hat. The ribbon does seem to look a bit greener than I would’ve liked, but as it is the exact same colour I used on the gnome so I figured it would do!

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

AAA Cards – Christmas

CAS-ual Fridays – Winter BluesCrafty Gals Corner – Anything Goes

Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge – Anything Christmas

Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge Extra – Anything Christmas

Creatalicious Challenges – Anything Goes

Cupcake Inspirations – Colour Palette: White, Pale Blue, Black

Muse: ChristmasVisions – Anything Goes

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday – Anything Goes

The Paper Shelter – Three Different Embellishments (I used ribbon, twine, and a pompom.)

…………………………………………………………

Check out what the rest of the DT made:

Charlotte (that’s me!)

Danijela

EK

Ishani

Sandy

Saskia


28 thoughts on “Christmas Gnome – CIC 434

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.