Ice Skating – CIC 436

It’s time for another Cupcake Inspirations Challenge, and this is our final one of the year! We’re going with a fun wintery theme, which is the North Pole. If you decide you want to join in with our challenge you’ll be entered to win a €10 gift certificate from our sponsor, Aliciabel.

For my card I started by printing out my digi stamps. The stamps I used were provided by our sponsor, and are Ice Skating Princess and Prince of Skating. I used both my Spectrum Noir Illustrator markers and my Yosoo alcohol markers to colour in the images. I coloured the girl first. I decided to give her blonde hair, then went with red and white for her clothes topped with a blue-green dress. In order to keep the card consistent I used the same or similar colours for the boy. His jumper is red and white to match the girls clothing, and his scarf and ear muffs match her dress. I went with brown for his trousers and gloves as brown is a fairly neutral colour. After completing the colouring I fussy cut the images and set them aside.

Next I started creating my scene. I chose a purple card base and topped it with a piece of vellum to mute the colour. I then used some hill/wave dies to cut four hills from white shimmer cardstock and adhered those into place on the card base. I stamped, coloured and fussy cut the north pole sign from The Cat’s Pajamas Poochie Xmas stamp set to add into my scene, and added a Finnish sentiment onto the vellum of my sky. The sentiment roughly translates to “Warm Well Wishes”.

Just as I was about to adhere my figures into place I realised one problem with my scene. My ice skaters didn’t have any ice to skate on! I found a snippet of pale blue card that was just about the right size to use, and used my scissors to round off the top of it. I then mixed some Perfect Pearls into some water and painted that over the blue snippet to give it some shimmer. I dried it with my heat gun and adhered it into place with double-sided tape, before finally adding the boy and girl.

I’m very happy with this card. I love the little scene I created, and the images are so cute! The scene turned out just exactly how I wanted it to. I think it is a perfect card for this challenge, though I must say that I think they are a bit under-dressed for ice-skating in the North Pole!

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Crafty Gals Corner – Anything Goes

Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge – Anything Christmas

Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge Extra – Anything Christmas

Creatalicious Challenges – Anything Goes

Cupcake Inspirations – North Pole

Double D Challenges – Winter

HLS Anything Goes With Dies – Use Dies

HLS Christmas Challenge – Anything Christmas

Lil Patch of Crafty Friends – Anything Goes

Mod Squad – Winter Holiday Card

Sweet Stampin’ – Last Minute/CAS Christmas

Uniko Challenge – Christmas

Winter Wonderland – Anything Christmas Goes

…………………………………………………………

Check out what the rest of the DT made:

Charlotte (that’s me!)

Danijela

EK

Ishani

Sandy

Saskia


34 thoughts on “Ice Skating – CIC 436

  1. Wow so cute! Love the coloring so much! Thanks for entering both Happy Little Stampers ATG w/ dies and the Mod Squad Challenges with this beautiful card!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great card, I love the little north pole sign in the snowy hills. Thanks for sharing your creation with us at Creatalicious. We hope to see you back again.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Your little skaters are absolutely delightful! Again, I’m marveling at your sensational colouring! Thank you for sharing this fabulous winter scene in the UNIKO and HLS Anything Goes with Dies galleries!
    ~carol

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you so much for sharing your delightful crafting for my Craftyhazelnut’s Patterned Paper Challenge for December and my CHNC challenge extra for December – hope to see you again soon. x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.