Get Merry – MM 272

It’s time for another Merry Monday challenge! (If you’re looking for my Cupcake Inspirations post, please click here.) Leanne is our host this week, and she’s looking for a Christmas card with glasses. The inspiration image shows champagne glasses, but of course spectacles could be another interpretation of “glasses”, and some of the DT did go that direction. I decided to stick with drinking glasses for my card, though I almost went crazy in the process..!

This card is actually the fourth idea I had for the prompt. The first idea was inspired by a card I’d seen around Christmas time, which had die cut wine glasses. Not having the dies for the glasses I was going to wing it (use an oval or circle die and cut in half, for example), but the more I tried to work it out in my head the more it didn’t seem to be working. Then I noticed someone else had made a card similar to it, so I decided to stop trying to puzzle it out and come up with another idea. I had another idea, pairing wine glasses with a wine bottle, but I’d misremembered the scale of the stamps (they’re from different sets) and they wouldn’t have worked together. The third idea was to use a large Christmas sentiment and replace the “i” with a wine glass. Except I don’t have a large Christmas sentiment… If you’re exhausted reading all that, you can imagine how I felt! (Oh and if you have ways of making those ideas work for you, feel free to use them – I’d love to see how they come out!)

When I came up with my fourth and final idea I decided to just try it and see what happened. So I took a panel of cream card stock and started stamping the wine bottle from Heffy Doodle’s Happy Snappy Crocs repeatedly across it with Simon Says Stamp Barely Beige ink. I then used the bubble stamp from Lawn Fawn’s Happy Wedding to fill in the gaps.

I then took a sentiment from Lawn Fawn’s Merry Messages and stamped it onto a snippet of white card alongside the champagne glass from Happy Wedding. I chose this particular sentiment because of “merry” being another way of saying tipsy, or drunk. I cut out the sentiment with a Lawn Fawn Stitched Oval. I then coloured in the glass using my Spectrum Noir Illustrator markers.

I used double sided tape to adhere the oval sentiment panel to my patterned panel, and it to a card base.

After all the trouble I had with coming up with a workable idea for this challenge, I’m really happy with this card. I think it’s fun. It might have been easier if I had had more wine-related stamps. I was actually surprised by the fact that I had any!

Love,

Lady Joyful

 

 

 

Challenges included:

AAA Cards – Something New (The Lawn Fawn Happy Wedding stamp set and Stitched Oval dies are new to me.)

Addicted to Stamps and More – Holiday

Allsorts Challenge – Something New (The Lawn Fawn Happy Wedding stamp set and Stitched Oval dies are new to me.)

Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge – Anything Christmas

Creatalicious Challenges – Anything Goes

HLS Christmas Challenge – Anything Goes and Optional: CAS

Lawn Fawnatics – Fun With Food (Does alcohol count as food..?!)

Lil Patch of Crafty Friends – Anything Goes

Merry Monday – Christmas and Glasses

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday – Something New (The Lawn Fawn Happy Wedding stamp set and Stitched Oval dies are new to me.)

…………………………………………………………

Check out what the rest of the DT made:

Charlotte (that’s me!)

Colleen

Deanne

Debbie

Felicita

JoAnn

Kelly

Kim

Kimberly

Leanne

Linda S

Linda W

Lori

Marcia

Nina

Sue


46 thoughts on “Get Merry – MM 272

  1. Adorable card, Charlotte. I think I went in several different directions with this card, too. It turned out lovely. Have a great week.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is an adorable card. I’m definitely for a merry Christmas using your definition of merry! Isn’t it something how some of the sweetest little cards that look so put together caused us so much grief to get there?!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A great card!
    Thank you soo much for taking part in our “anything goes with optional wishes” challenge over at Creatalicious & good luck in the draw.
    Hope to see you again in our new challenge as well…

    Hugs,
    Melanie
    (DT-Coordinator Creatalicious Challenges)
    (DT Crafty Friends)
    (DT The Sketchy Challenges)
    (DT Stempel-Magie)

    PS: Sorry for the late comment, life had been very busy these past weeks…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.