WWC158 – Helen’s Masculine “Anything Goes” Challenge

We’re making masculine cards this week over at Watercooler Wednesdays. I went back to a card kit from the summer for the elements for my card. I figured that nautical is a good theme for a masculine card, and honestly I’ve not got very much use out of the dies from the kit which is a shame because they are great dies. I’m going to try to use them more!

I started by die cutting the boat, from First Edition’s Nautical dies, from some white card, then carefully poked out all the areas that I didn’t want.  I could have poked out more, for example the slats of the hull, or the strips in the sails, as they were cut too, but I wanted to keep those in. I put tape on the back of the die cut to keep the pieces in place that I didn’t want to lose.

Once I had the parts of the die that I wanted, I started on colouring it in. I used alcohol markers – both Spectrum Noir Illustrator markers and Yosoo alcohol markers. I used some light blues for the sails to match the coloured card base that I had already picked out. For the hull of the boat I went with browns. I then used cool greys for the sail and other areas that I wanted to look like metal. Finally I used some yellow for the little portholes (or I presume that’s what they are…)

Having completed my colouring I moved on to the rest of the card. I picked a pattern paper with a wave design that I felt fitted the boat well. I adhered a large panel of the patterned paper to my card base, then added the boat on top off to one side. As a final touch I added a sentiment from Crafty Ola’s Sail With Me stamp set.

I’m very happy with this card. I really like how the die cut looks and am pleased with the colouring on it. I think the graphic wave design was a good choice to accompany it. This card does work very nicely as a masculine card, particularly for someone who likes to sail!

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Craftyhazelnut’s Patterned Paper Challenge – Use Patterned Paper

HLS Anything Goes With Dies – Use Dies

Lil Patch of Crafty Friends – Anything Goes

Watercooler Wednesday Challenge – Anything Masculine Goes

…………………………………………………………

Check out what the rest of the DT made:

Charlotte (that’s me!)

Gail

Heidi

Helen

Judy

Kath

Marsha

Penny


14 thoughts on “WWC158 – Helen’s Masculine “Anything Goes” Challenge

  1. What a terrific nautical die Charlotte. I love that you didn’t poke out all the slats in the hull and sails. I think it brings a strong masculine image to the card. Love the wavy pattern in the background paper, it adds a whimsical touch to the card. Thanks so much for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wonderful card with perfect patterned paper. That little yacht is definitely out their sailing the open seas. Thanks for joining us at CHNC Patterned Paper Challenge this month.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A great masculine care, Charlotte! I agree about leaving some of those negative bits in the die-cut. Without them the image wouldn’t seem so full and real. Your background paper certainly has the look of waves on the ocean. Nicely done.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.