WWC176 – Kath’s “All About Christmas” Challenge

It’s time for a new Watercooler Wednesday challenge and this week we’re looking for Christmas cards. I went with some non-traditional colours on my card, though the design would work well with more traditional colours too. Be sure to read through to the end of my post to see how I made it, and to find links to the cards that the rest of the team made.

I started by creating a wreath of candy canes using a little stamp from Skull and Crossbuns, which I heat embossed in silver. This particular stamp is actually a freebie that gets sent with orders, but can also be bought in a scaled up version in the Festive Fun stamp set.

After creating my wreath I started painting. I used the Gansai Tambi pearl colours. I started with pearl pink, but found the colour too intense so I added the white gold too to knock it back.

Whilst my painted panel was drying I worked on my card base. I used a Kraft card base and added detail to it by ink blending Simon Says Stamp Barely Beige ink through the woodgrain portion of the Hard Textures stencil by The Crafters’ Workshop.

Once the paint had dried (I did get impatient and speed it up with my heat gun) I cut out the panel with a Sizzix Circle die. I then mounted it on foam tape and adhered it to my stenciled card base.

I decided to add my sentiment on a piece of vellum. I chose words from Happy Little Stamper’s Everyday Sentiments stamp set, and heat embossed them with the same silver I’d used for the candy canes. I then fussy cut the sentiment out. I hid my liquid glue behind the thick lines of the sentiment and adhered it onto the painted circle.

As a final touch I added a scattering of Nuvo Drops in Liquid Mercury across my card base. I initially put the ones in the bottom left corner too close together and when I tapped the card to flatten any peaks they merged into one. By working quickly I was able to wipe the splodge off with a piece of almost completely dry baby wipe, and then redo the drops.

I can’t decide how I feel about this card. Initially I wasn’t too happy with it. I’d been going for non-traditional colours but I wasn’t sure about the pink. It’s growing on me though, and I think the silver works well enough with it. Another area I wasn’t sure on was the Nuvo Drops. I feel like maybe they’re a bit too linear. I do really like the woodgrain background though!

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Allsorts Challenge Blog – Sweet Treats

Christmas Crafts All Year ‘Round – Non-Traditional Christmas Colours

Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge – Anything Christmas

HLS Christmas Challenge – Anything Christmas

Inkspirational – Use Small Stamps

Simon Says Stamp Monday – Food and/or Drink

Watercooler Wednesday Challenge – Christmas

Rudolph Days – Anything Christmas

…………………………………………………………

Check out what the rest of the DT made:

Charlotte (that’s me!)

Gail

Heidi

Helen

Kath

Marsha

Penny

Tenia


16 thoughts on “WWC176 – Kath’s “All About Christmas” Challenge

  1. Cute card! I like the nontraditional Christmas colors and your fun use of nuvo drops. As always, thanks for sharing with us at Inkspirational!
    – Shauna

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautifully done – I love the way the colours work together.

    Thanks for joining us at Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge.

    Helen x

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Loving the non traditional colours and the pretty, sort of whispy, light feeling this card evokes. The vellum is perfect with this card.

    Thanks for taking part in the June Rudolph Days Challenge.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.