WWC197 – Kath’s Masculine “Anything Goes” Challenge

It’s Wednesday which means it’s time for a new Watercooler Wednesday challenge. This week we’re looking for masculine-themed projects. I created this fun birthday card using products from Skull and Cross Buns.

I began my making a variety of backgrounds using the leaf stencil and Sea Green Brusho. I’ve used this technique before and really enjoyed it. I first placed the stencil onto some watercolor paper, sprinkled with the Brusho and spritzed with water mixed with Perfect Pearls. This gave me a positive impression of the stencil.

Next I made a number of prints using the remaining colour on the stencil. I first turned the stencil onto another panel of watercolour paper and pressed it down to get a negative impression of the stencil. I went on to make more impressions from pressing the stencil to paper, spraying more water as needed. For the last of the colour I sprayed well and created a kind of smooshed panel from what was left, without the pattern of the stencil.

I created my card using the first of the negative pieces I’d created as the background. I then cut a strip of the smooshed paper and white heat embossed a sentiment from Quirky Sentiments. I finished off by adhering a leaf embellishment and adding some Simply White Nuvo Drops. Which I of course managed to get wonky… I also added some subtle stitched detail to the sentiment panel with my white gel pen.

This birthday card turned out quite nicely even if it wasn’t exactly what I had in mind. I will have a video coming in a few days showing how I made the backgrounds, and a couple of other cards made using them. Life has become rather busy in the past couple of weeks so I was not able to complete them yet, but I’ll definitely share as soon as I can! If you’re subscribed to my YouTube channel already you’ll know when it gets uploaded. You can find my channel here if you’re not yet subscribed but would like to be!

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Creatalicious Challenges – Anything Goes

Creative Confetti – Birthday Card

Digi Choosday – Anything Goes

HLS Watercolour Challenge – Anything Goes

Watercooler Wednesday – Anything Masculine Goes

…………………………………………………………

Check out what the rest of the DT made:

Charlotte (that’s me!)

Gail

Heidi

Helen

Kath

Marsha

Tristan


14 thoughts on “WWC197 – Kath’s Masculine “Anything Goes” Challenge

  1. A wonderful green birthday card!
    Thank you soo much for taking part in our “anything goes with optional layer it up” challenge over at Creatalicious & good luck in the draw.
    Hope to see you again in our new challenge as well…

    Hugs,
    Melanie
    (DT-Coordinator Creatalicious Challenges)
    (DT Crafty Friends)
    (DT The Sketchy Challenges)
    (DT Simply Create Too)

    PS: Sorry for the late comment, life had been very busy these past weeks…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.