WWC200 – Helen’s “All About Occasions” Challenge

Can you believe it’s the 200th challenge over at Watercooler Wednesday? That’s amazing! As part of the celebration the lucky winner of this week’s challenge will be invited to guest design with us in January. Make sure you come and play along with the challenge if you want to be in for the chance. The theme for this challenge is “All About Occasions”, and with Christmas coming ever closer I went with making a Christmas card.

I started by die cutting the lower edge of a snippet of white card with the Stitched Scalloped Border Dies from Kat Scrappiness. The panel ended up being a bit smaller than I’d intended as I die cut it slightly wonky and had to trim it down so that I would be straight.

Next I got started with my stamping and embossing. I used the deer stamp from The Cat’s Pajamas’ Christmas Cookies stamp set and first stamped the two outermost deer of my cluster of three. I stamped with Simon Says Stamp Clear Embossing Ink, then used my Ranger Emboss It Pen to fill in the centre of the image so that the sentiment would not show. I heat embossed each of the outer deer with silver embossing powder.

For the central deer I stamped with the Embossing Ink but did not fill in the centre with the pen. I wanted the sentiment to be visible on the central image. I also swapped to gold embossing powder to differentiate it further from the other two images. With all my embossing done all that was left to do was popping the focal panel on my card base with foam tape.

I’m pretty pleased with this card. It’s a simple design but I think it is quite striking. The silver and gold give it a very elegant look, and keeping the rest of the card white helps the embossed images to stand out even more. The panel could be left straight edged, but I felt the die cut edge adds a little more interest to the card without detracting from the deer.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

AAA Cards – Three of Something

Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge – Anything Christmas

Double D Challenges – Deer

Inkspirational Challenges – Anything Christmas Goes

Muse – Anything Goes

Muse: ChristmasVisions – Any Holiday Card

Stick It Down – Sketch (edit – where it was chosen as a winner!)

Uniko Challenge – Celebrate and Optional: Gold

Watercooler Wednesday – All About Occasions

Wow! Monthly Challenge – Silver/Gold

………………………………………………………

Check out what the rest of the DT made:

Charlotte (that’s me!)

Dawn

Donna

Gail

Heidi

Helen

Karen

Kath

Marsha

Tristan


30 thoughts on “WWC200 – Helen’s “All About Occasions” Challenge

  1. A beautiful card, Charlotte! I love the two solid silver deer with the gold deer in the centre. How clever to have filled in the sentiment in the two silver deer. Having it show up in the gold really is striking. Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow this is striking. What a very creative idea to use the embossing pen in this way. And I love you used the curved panel in this design, adds even more interest. Thanks for joining Ink

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Just beautiful!! Thanks so much for joining in the fun at our Double D ‘Run Run Rudolph’ challenge! Good Luck and we hope you’ll come back often.

    Darlene
    DOUBLE D Challenge Blog
    DAR’S CRAFTY CREATIONS Please stop in for a visit!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love reindeer on Christmas cards. I like that you chose 3 different colored embossing powders. The whole design feels clean and stylish.
    Thanks for joining our Christmas challenge at Inkspirational!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You’re totally right, Charlotte, this card is striking ! What a great idea to combine silver and gold, the result is just fabulous ! Beautiful CAS design too and perfect for a man ! Thanks so much for sharing and for playing along at Uniko. x

    Liked by 1 person

  6. A striking trio of deer and leaving the sentiment visible in the center one adds to the impact! Elegant and classy! Thrilled that you shared your creativity in the Uniko gallery!
    ~carol

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.