Cool Digs

Cool DigsThis clean and simple new house card combines two stamp sets. I actually bought the Avery Elle’s Home Sweet Home stamp set specifically to be able to make a card that combines the little igloo with the big foot/yeti from Lawn Fawn’s Lovable Legends stamp set.

This card is, for a change, a response to just one challenge – Less is More‘s “colours of your kitchen” challenge. The last card I made for a Less is More challenge was my Awesome Orange Butterflies card. As much as I like how that card turned out, I completely forgot (whilst combining with other challenges) that LIM really like cards to use a lot of ‘white’ space. I think this card does a better job of that!

Before we get into the card making I should probably talk about the colours of our kitchen, seeing as that’s the theme. The tiny kitchen in our current flat is primarily white but does have some pale blue tiles behind the sink. Those colours worked wonderfully for this card. As you can see, I did also add a smidge of pink for the yeti’s nose, despite there not being any pink in our kitchen, but I hope I can be excused for that!

I began by taking a panel of slightly textured white card which I trimmed down to the size as the prefolded card stock. I then worked out the positioning for my image. At first I was thinking of having it in the middle, but I decided moving it lower down worked better. I was also thinking of having the yeti standing in front of the igloo rather than beside it, but decided against that too.

The yeti and the igloo are both stamped with Memento Tuxedo Black ink. I then coloured them using my pastel pencils. Colouring was pretty straight forward. I used the lightest blue I have to add dimension and shadows, as all the components of the picture would otherwise be white. I then went over again with the white pastel pencil to draw out and soften the blue. I added a little pink to the yeti’s nose. I then used a black pencil to go back over the lines to make sure they stood out properly. (If I had my MISTI yet I would have just stamped back over it – only a couple more weeks until I can pick it up!) I grounded the image by using the same blue and white combination to add a layer of icy snow.

I wanted the yeti to be holding a little sign. I had some patterned paper with arrows on it and the light blue one seemed perfect. And it fitted the little sentiment, which was even better! I fussy cut it and then stamped the sentiment with Memento Tuxedo Black ink. I also decided to add the second sentiment part way up the card because it seemed a bit too bare otherwise.

Assembly was very straightforward. I used my craft knife to cut an opening around the yeti’s hand so that I could slip the arrow in to make it look like he is holding it. I then used a little tape runner to stick the arrow in place. The panel was then adhered to the card base using my tape runner.

Cool Digs 2I actually love how this card turned out. It’s really sweet and simple. The colours work nicely (though I still dream of the day I have copics for colouring!) and the scene worked out perfectly. I think a border around the card might have been nice… Maybe like a stitched rectangle frame or something… (If I had the equipment for that!) But other than that, I’m very pleased with it.

Love,

Lady Joyful


14 thoughts on “Cool Digs

  1. Perfectly CAS and such a cute yeti! This is gorgeous, and your blending with pencils is super. Wish I could get it that soft and line-less! Thanks for a fab entry 🙂

    Like

  2. You have every right to be pleased with it. It’s a very cool, ‘cool’ card! Love the yeti – he looks like a friendly one!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sensational! Just look at all the yummy white space Charlotte, and yet you still made such a cool and contemporary card. That igloo teamed with the sentiment is fantastic! Thanks so much for joining us.
    Sharon xx
    Less is More

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Just playing catch up on last week’s challenge entries!
    This is perfect with all that yummy white space… well done you…the sentiment fits the image so well too!
    Thanks so much
    Chrissie
    “Less is More”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.