Kissed Flowers

As I get myself back into the routine of making cards regularly, I’m trying to make life easier for myself with sweet and simple cards. Things that are not too time consuming to make. I still want to have fun with them though. That’s partly why I experimented with two new-to-me techniques in this card – double embossing, and kissing.

I started by working out what stamps I wanted to use and deciding on a rough layout. I picked a couple of the flowers and stems from Altenew’s Brush Art Florals as well as a text pattern stamp from Panduro Hobby’s A6 frames, which I used for the “kissing”. The stamp I chose for the sentiment is from Pink and Main’s Thanks to You stamp set.

Once I had the plan for the layout I began by heat embossing the sentiment. First I stamped it with black ink and heat embossed in clear. I then repositioned the stamp to be slightly offset from the black, stamped with embossing ink, and heat embossed with silver. This double heat embossing gave a shadow effect to the sentiment.

Next I positioned the flower heads how I wanted them with the help of my MISTI. I inked up the flowers with a pale pink pigment ink. I then inked up the text stamp with a pink-purple pigment ink and stamped that onto the flower stamp. That is, I “kissed” the stamps against one another, so that the darker text impression was left on the ink that was already on the flowers. I then stamped the flowers onto the card base. I’m finding it hard to explain how I did it, so hopefully that made sense, and you can see the result in the picture which should clear up any confusion!

After removing the flowers from my MISTI I lined up the stems, one at a time, and stamped them using the same kissing technique. The effect is less obvious as the shades of green I used are very similar, but it does add a subtle texture to them.

I’m really happy with this card. The kissing technique was a lot of fun and creates really interesting texture on the stamping. The colours are wonderfully fresh for Spring. I was initially a bit concerned with the double embossing as the silver layer did not get quite the coverage I was looking for, but actually I think the rougher look suits the style of the card pretty well. In hindsight I think I perhaps should have used a different sentiment as I don’t need to send thank you cards very often… But I’m sure I can find something to do with this!

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Allsorts Challenge Blog – Embossing (I chose heat embossing.)

Cupcake Inspirations – Colour Palette: Spring, Pink, Orchid (I did only use a very small amount of the purple colour I chose as “orchid”, but it’s still there!)

Less Is More – Shadow

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday – Anything Goes

Time Out Challenges – Flowers and Optional: Kissing

 


27 thoughts on “Kissed Flowers

  1. How very pretty! The flowers look lovely set against the shadowed sentiment. Very classy and perfectly CAS! Thanks so much for playing along with us at Less is More 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Marianne. Thank you for your comment but I did not enter my card at agoac (I’d not even heard of it before now), and I only link my card to challenges I have entered.

      Like

  2. Great job with the kissing technique, not the easiest to plan out but this works really well. Fab effect with the shadow sentiment too.
    Thanks so much for sharing with us at Less is More, Anita x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.