Plaid Bikini – SSS Hello Summer Card Kit

The cards I made over the weekend were both one layer cards. Today’s card definitely has more layers! The card base, patterned paper, vellum, frame and bikini, with some foam tape in between some of the layers for extra dimension. Definitely more than one layer there! It’s still on the CAS side, in keeping with my style preference. I really enjoyed making this one!

I started by picking out the bikini patterned paper to be my background, then used a snippet of plaid/tartan patterned paper to create the focal bikini. The patterned papers are both from Echo Park’s Summer Dreams 6×6 paper pack which came in the Simon Says Stamp Hello Summer card kit. The die for creating the bikini also came in the card kit.

Next I used a circle die and a snippet of vellum from my stash to cut a large vellum circle to help diffuse the background pattern without fully hiding it. Without the vellum the patterned bikini was getting a bit lost against the bikini patterned paper behind it. I also picked out a pink frame from my snippets file to add to the card.

I used my glue pen to adhere my pink frame onto the vellum circle so that I could use it as the guide for stamping my sentiment. The sentiment actually fit perfectly within the space of the frame, which made me very happy! I stamped the sentiment, from the Sea You Soon stamp set, with clear embossing ink and embossed with black powder so that it would be nice and crisp. I then took some foam tape from my stash and used that to adhere the bikini into place above and below the sentiment, slightly overlapping the frame.

I knew I wanted to pop up my vellum for a bit of extra dimension. Anyone who has worked with vellum knows that it’s tricky as you have to make sure the adhesive is all hidden. I took the Darice Double Sided Foam Strips which came in the card kit as they are very narrow and were better for the task than the wider foam tape I have in my stash. The strips fit perfectly along behind the pink frame. I also added a couple of pieces behind the bikini for extra stability. When I was putting the strips behind the frame it put me in mind of a shaker, and I did consider changing my plan and turning this card into a shaker card, but decided not to in the end.

Once I’d adhered the vellum panel to the patterned paper I turned the whole thing over and snipped off the overhanging edges of the circle. I then put liquid over the back of the patterned paper and adhered it to my card base. The card base itself is top fold and made from the Sunshine card stock that came in the kit.

I have no idea what I will use this card for. I don’t really have anyone I could send it to. But I love it. I love how it came together. I love the colours, and the different shapes and patterns. I’m very happy with the vellum circle and the layering. And I even like how the sentiment turned out – black heat embossing is usually a nightmare for me! This was a really fun card to make. I like it.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Craftyhazlenut’s Patterned Paper Challenge – Patterned Paper

HLS Anything Goes With Dies – Anything Goes

My Favorite Things Sketch Challenge – Sketch/Layout

Pixie’s Snippets Playground – Snippets (edit – where it was a top pick!)

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday – Use Plaid

Simon Says Stamp Work It Wednesday – Summer

Virginia’s Summer Blog Party – Summer


12 thoughts on “Plaid Bikini – SSS Hello Summer Card Kit

  1. What a fabulous card Charlotte – no wonder you’re pleased with it! Great use of snippets of course – love the little bikini and the sentiment is perfect!

    Hugs

    Di xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi,
    congrats on your card being a top pick on the Playground.
    It is sure a super and gorgeous design and so wonderfully created.
    I love that bikini is so super fab, and looks perfect too.
    Wonderful papers used also.
    Lots of crafty love. Jenny L.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks so much for linking up to “Virginia’s Summer Blog Party”! I am so glad that you share your beautiful summer creation!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.